Waiting on Wednesday: Scorch

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases I’m eagerly anticipating. This week’s “can’t-wait-to-read” selection on Making the Grade is:

ScorchScorch (Croak #2)
by Gina Damico
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Release Date: September 25, 2012
Author Website
Preorder on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old Lex Bartleby is a teenage grim reaper with the bizarre ability to damn souls. That makes her pretty scary, even to fellow Grims. But after -spoiler for book 1-, Lex is a pariah in Croak, the little town she calls home. To escape the townspeople’s wrath, she and her friends embark on a wild road trip to DeMyse.

Though this sparkling desert oasis is full of luxuries and amusements, it feels like a prison to Lex. Her best chance at escape would be to stop -spoiler for book 1- once and for all—but how can she do that from DeMyse, where the Grims seem mysteriously oblivious to Zara’s killing spree?

Croak is one of the most hilarious books I’ve read this year. I cannot wait to get my hands on Scorch so that I can enjoy even more laughs. What’s better is that book one even had a great plot to go along with it, including some drama and (gasp!) even some tears were shed by me. Lex is one of my current favorite heroines in YA lit. Yes, The Snark is strong in that one. And I need more Snark. Now, please!

If you haven’t checked out Croak yet, I recommend that you do. You can find it in paperback for only $8.99!

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on May 16, 2012, in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. i recently got my hands on croak. super excited to read it. this series sounds really fun 🙂

    my WoW this week.

    -michelle

  2. I can’t wait for this one either! I absolutely loved the first – Fantastic pick!

    Claire Reads WoW

  3. starryeyedjen29

    I actually haven’t read Croaked yet, but it’s definitely on my TBR. Great pick…really loving the plethora of reaper novels on the market these days.

    Here’s my WoW post. Happy Wednesday! 😀

  4. I haven’t read Croaked, I wasn’t sure about it actually but I might have to check it out.

    My WOW

  5. Wow book two is already coming out?!? Guess I really need to get on buying a copy of the first book.

    My WoW

  6. I really need to read Croak! It’s been on my wishlist for awhile now – I can’t wait to read it! The second book sounds just as awesome & I love the cover! Thanks for sharing it!
    My WoW

  7. I still need to read Croak! I did hear it was funny and great so I will have to fit that one in! Perhaps when I need a good pick-me-up! Great choice! 🙂
    My W.O.W.

  8. I heard about Croak, but I never read it. I had a feeling it could go either way with me. If you think it’s funny, though, then I really want to give it a shot! Thanks!

    My WoW

  9. I still haven’t read Croak ..although a friend is letting me borrow it during the summer! So yay! I heard great things about it ..including the funny parts ^_^ Can’t wait to read both Croak and Scorch!

  10. I haven’t even gotten to Croak yet!!! Wow! I need to get my butt in gear!!

    My WoW: http://sosimplesara.blogspot.com/2012/05/waiting-on-wednesday-16.html

  11. I guess you like Croak that’s why you picked this? But I have yet to read it! Can I be honest? I think it needs a better cover… not that I think it’s ugly, but I think it should have a better cover aww great pick!

    My WoW picks here

    Jay
    We Fancy Books

    • I actually felt the same way about the cover of Croak. And don’t even get me started on what the ARC looked like… Ick. BUT… Then I got the final copy of Croak and I thought that it was GORGEOUS! So shiny and metallic and the colors… Surprisingly, it worked very nicely. I will withhold my opinion of the Scorch cover until I see it in person, too. 😉

  12. This one sounds like a lot of fun – haven’t read croak so I’m curious about what age this would be suitable for – love to read adventure/supernatural kid-friendly books to my boys…the older stuff is for me! Sounds like a good story.

    My WoW

    @TCAbn The Motley Chronicles

    • This might be more for you unless your boys are 14 and up. Croak is about a snarky teenage hooligan. She does bad things, swears at times, has an all-round bad attitude, etc. While hilarious and containing a strong story, Croak is essentially about grim reapers “reaping” dead souls. Some scenes may elicit strong reactions due to the topic of murder and death.

  13. This looks good, and I might just have to see if my library has Croak so I can read the first one. I’m in need of a good, funny book!

    I’d love it if you stopped by and checked out my WoW.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup (3) + Book Haul! (vlog) « Making the Grade

Leave a comment