Waiting on Wednesday: Grasping at Eternity

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases I’m eagerly anticipating. This week’s “can’t-wait-to-read” selection on Making the Grade is:

Grasping at EternityGrasping at Eternity (The Kindrily Series, #1)
by Karen Amanda Hooper
Self-Published
Release Date: May 2012 (?)
Author Website
Add to Goodreads

Leave it to Maryah Woodsen to break the one rule that will screw up eternity: Never erase your memories.

Before entering this life, Maryah did the unthinkable—she erased. Now, at seventeen years old, she’s clueless that her new adoptive family has known her for centuries, that they are perpetually reincarnated souls, and that they have supernatural abilities. Oh, and she’s supposed to love (not despise) Nathan, the green-eyed daredevil who saved her life.

Nathan is convinced his family’s plan to spark Maryah’s memory is hopeless, but his love for her is undying. After spending (and remembering) so many lifetimes together, being around an empty version of his soul mate is heart shattering. He hates acting like a stalker, but has no choice because the evil outcast who murdered Maryah in their last lifetime is still after her.

While Maryah’s hunter inches closer, she and Nathan make assumptions and hide secrets that rip them further apart. Maryah has to believe in the magic within her, Nathan must have faith in the power of their love, and both need to grasp onto the truth before they lose each other forever—and discover just how lonely eternity can be.

X-MEN meets MY NAME IS MEMORY in Karen Amanda Hooper’s latest young adult release. Coming in May of 2012.

Grasping at Eternity? It’s more like I’m grasping for ANY information I can get on this upcoming book by the author of Tangled Tides. Karen is an outstanding author who captured my interest with her first title, and now I am DYING to know more about Grasping at Eternity. I only wish it would go up on Amazon, or Barnes & Noble, or ANY other store for that matter. Not to mention I love the cover. The title treatment, the peacock feathers, the angle… It all goes together very nicely. Plus, this book deals with living multiple lifetimes, a topic that is central to the book I am writing.

(Oh, and did I mention that Karen is a local author? Yup, exciting, huh?)

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on April 18, 2012, in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. LOVE the cover. It is brilliant. The blurb sounds really interesting. This is the first time I’ve heard of this book but I will definitley have to add it to my TBR pile.

  2. starryeyedjen29

    This is the first time I’ve heard of Grasping at Eternity, but it sounds great! Awesome pick! I love it when someone has to be convinced of their past. 🙂

    Here’s my WoW post. Happy Wednesday!

  3. authorkarenhooper

    Aww, thanks so much for the GAE love! I’m hoping to release it on May 25th. This one isn’t published by Rhemalda. I decided to keep total control and self-publish this series. Not that I don’t love Rhemlada (I do and they’ll still get future books of mine) but I wanted to release this series at my own pace (hopefully a little faster than traditional publishing). 🙂

  4. This cover totally rocked my socks off! :O

    Patricia // My WOW

  5. This sounds amazing. Hadn’t heard of it until now. I’ll be putting this on my TBR list. Thanks!

  6. I’ve never seen this cover before but WOW. It’s absolutely gorgeous. Adding it to my TBR list.

    Check out my WoW

  7. This is a new one I’m just now hearing about. Sounds like a good one too, thanks for sharing!
    Here’s my Wow!

  8. It’s going to be released in May 2012? Too bad there’s not yet a specific date, I’ll be however careful not to miss it. (: Great choice.

    Aleksandra and her WoW

  9. OMG this book sounds really amazing! I haven’t heard of it before but I’m definitely adding it to my wishlist! Great choice this week 🙂 Check out my WOW:

    Crystal @ Elegantly Bound Books

  10. Just recently heard about this one and it sounds great!

    Our WoW is at Book Sake. –Jessica

  11. This sounds really good! And that cover is just gorgeous. I’m not usually into the whole self-publish thing, but I might just check this out! It sounds very good!

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

  12. Heey, this one is new to me, but it’s now on my goodreads list! 😀

Leave a comment