Book Review + Giveaway: Arise


THIS POST IS NOW AVAILABLE AT MTGREVIEWS.COM.
PLEASE DIRECT TO THAT LINK IN THE FUTURE.

AriseArise
By Tara Hudson
June 5, 2012
HarperTeen
Reviewed: ARC from publisher
Author’s Website
Hardcover | Kindle

Amelia—still caught between life and death—must fight for every moment of her relationship with the human boy Joshua. They can hardly even kiss without Amelia accidentally dematerializing. Looking for answers, they go to visit some of Joshua’s Seer relatives in New Orleans. But even in a city so famously steeped in the supernatural, Amelia ends up with more questions than answers…and becomes increasingly convinced that she and Joshua can never have a future together.Wandering through the French Quarter, Amelia meets other in-between ghosts, and begins to seriously consider joining them. And then she meets Gabrielle. Somehow, against impossible odds, Gaby has found a way to live a sort of half-life…a half-life for which Amelia would pay any price. Torn between two worlds, Amelia must choose carefully, before the evil spirits of the netherworld choose for her.

JENNA’S REVIEW:

Fans of Hereafter will find even more to love with ARISE, the second installment in Tara Hudson’s deathly romantic series. But be prepared, all is not well with Amelia in this chapter.

The story starts off with Amelia, Joshua and his family heading to New Orleans for Christmas vacation. After an unfortunate encounter with demons who apparently want to take Amelia by any means necessary (even to the point of hurting those she loves) Amelia is left thinking that she is a danger if she sticks around Joshua. Much of the plot is centered around the decision: Should she stay, or should she go? When it came to how she addressed this question, I personally thought that Amelia acted selfishly, which hurt her “likability factor” in my book. I also am not a fan of the “martyr complex” when they crop up in YA reads.

New characters are introduced in the book, as we meet Joshua’s family in New Orleans. No single character really pops out to me as being unique or overly interesting, since fairly little time is actually spent with the family. Joshua’s grandmother, Ruth, pops up, albeit a lot less than you would expect. Instead, the new character we learn most about is Gabrielle (or Gaby). Gaby throws the biggest wrench ever into the story, one that definitely packs a punch when it comes to the direction that this series is taking us.  While I saw it coming as to who we could and could not trust in this book, this knowledge didn’t dampen my excitement when things actually did pick up. And in the end things “picked up” quite a bit indeed. As far as the pacing goes, while I wish that the first half could have been sped up a bit, the end was totally worth it. Amelia even redeemed herself a bit in my eyes once she got some sense (and a whole lot more than that) knocked into her.

I have high hopes for whatever the future brings for the leading couple in this series. I look forward to whatever Tara has in store for us in the third, and final, installment. If you like romantic ghost stories, you really must check out Hereafter and ARISE by Tara Hudson.

Plot: 8 (the tension is high in this one, but involved too much angst for a large part of the plot)
Characters: 7 (Amelia’s angst ruled the show early on, friendships were forged a bit too quickly)
Setting: 10 (New Orleans graveyards anyone? Yes, please!)
Pacing: 8 (the first half could have been cut down a bit, the second half was exceptional)
Style: 8 (Tara is a master of romantic love scenes, her ghostly creativity is superb)

Grade: 91

How about a giveaway?

Win an ARC of ARISE by Tara Hudson!

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE.
If you have entered in the past, do not worry! Your entries have been recorded.

You must be 13 or older to enter.
Open to US and Canada only.
Ends at midnight on Tuesday, June 12, 2012.

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on June 2, 2012, in Book Review, Four Star and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great book to me. Thanks for the giveaway.
    autumnflower6ATaolDOTcom

  2. I’ve heard some amazing things about this book – the characters, setting and premise. I love her moral dilemma and the new characters sound so interesting:)

    Thanks so much:)

    ccfioriole at gmail dot com

  3. Awesome review I cant wait to read this one!!
    agarcia6510 at columbus dot rr dot com

  4. I LOVED Hereafter and look forward to reading this one!

    Nicole dot m dot Fuentes at gmail dot com

  5. thanks for the giveaway Gale pgan427@yahoo.com

  6. I tweeted it:) thanks for this awesome giveaway:) https://twitter.com/immabelieve/status/208931943620947971

  7. Eep! I loved Hereafter so I’m excited you enjoyed Arise. Agreed with you on the martyr complex. It’s too unreasonable for me, but I’m sure it won’t bother me too much when I read the book.
    Thanks for the fantastic review.

    Lindadao2060 at yahoo dot com

  8. Thanks so much! This book sounds amazing! Fingers crossed 🙂

    cazzyae (at) gmail (dot) com

  9. starryeyedjen29

    Great review! I wasn’t the biggest fan of Hereafter, but I liked it well enough to read the sequel, which you’ve actually kind of made me excited about now. 🙂

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    mrsjbruce(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. I would love a chance to read this. it has been on my need to read pile.
    helldog3 at aol.com

  11. tweeted

    helldog3 at aol.com

  12. Trisha Monahan

    I love books and your review is a really good one, I’m very interested in reading this novel.
    trishamonahan@hotmail.com

  13. Tabitha Williams

    This book sounds soooo good!
    jeep_wrangler_girl@yahoo.com

  14. Love your review! I’m grateful you decided to give it away! 🙂

    fourheadjen at gmail dot com

  15. I have heard some great things about this series! Thanks for the review and giveaway!

  16. Great giveaway. This book sounds really good!

    colleen at myartsite dot com

  17. Wow sounds great! Thanks for the chance.

  18. This sounds sooo good! Thanks for the giveaway!!

    unabridgedbookshelf at gmail dot com

  19. Julie McAninch

    Sounds like an amazing book! Want it so bad!! Also, here’s my tweet link. 😉 https://twitter.com/Summer1938/status/209012088302075904 and email is juliemcaninch88@gmail.com

  20. Thanks for the giveaway!!!!

    ennapenglin(AT)sbcglobal(dot)net

  21. Thanks for the chance to win!!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  22. This looks like an awesome series, I need to go get Hereafter now and start reading it.
    misstrellyn@gmail.com

  23. I’ve been waiting for what it seems like forever for Arise to come out. I’m so excited to read it. I had to skim the review b/c I didn’t want to read even the tiniest spoiler.

    molly(dot)frenzel(at)gmail(dot)com
    Tweet: https://twitter.com/dg_molly/status/209044669181591552

  24. Michelle adams

    Thanks so much! I have been dying to read arise. I loved hereafter

    Celle2006@aolDOTcom

  25. Shaina Jachim

    OMG YOU ROCK! 😀
    Here is my email: shaina333@comcast.net

    and I tweeted this awesomeness! https://twitter.com/ShainaJachim/status/209051985738088448

    Thanks so much! 😀
    Shaina

  26. Sounds like a really great book, and I love the cover!

    I tweeted here

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Poisnivyred AT gmail.com

Leave a Reply

