Tiger’s Curse Author Event Coverage + Giveaway!


THIS POST IS NOW AVAILABLE AT MTGREVIEWS.COM.
PLEASE DIRECT TO THAT LINK IN THE FUTURE.

Last weekend was one of the greatest weekends in my life as a book blogger. That’s not saying much, since I haven’t been a blogger for very long, but it is still significant to me. Last weekend COLLEEN HOUCK, author of the best selling TIGER’S CURSE series visited my town not one but TWO days in a row. First, on Friday, May 18, she visited a Barnes and Noble just a few miles from my house, then on Saturday, May 19, she was at another location less than a mile from my work place. I was ecstatic to say the least, and felt a bit of pressure due to the fact that, as Colleen has claimed, it was thanks to my adamant requests (and those of my family and friends) that brought her here.

Funny story: On my way to the Friday event, I discovered (thanks to a limo and girl-in-fancy-dress sighting) that it was prom night here in town. As a result, the attendance that day almost entirely consisted adults, including me and my sister-in-law, Nanci from the blog This Crazy Life of Mine.  This was nice, as it made for a more intimate gathering. Colleen read a romantic scene from Voyage and the Q&A session was fantastic!

Colleen Houck shared the following tidbits of information at her signing:

  • The upcoming fourth book in the series, TIGER’S DESTINY, has had three different endings up to its most current (and presumably finalized) ending. The book will be released on September 4, 2012.
  • In January 2010, Colleen’s (self-published) Amazon Kindle ranking went from approximately #30,000 to #19 overnight – likely due to the Christmas purchases of e-readers.
  • After reading The Twilight Saga: Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer, Colleen felt the need to stalk Edward. After multiple unanswered pleas to the author to speed up the publishing of the final book, Colleen decided to write a book of her own to fill the void. Thus, Tiger’s Curse came into existence.
  • Colleen completed Tiger’s Curse on the same day that Breaking Dawn was published.

Then on Saturday, Nanci, Sarah from the YA Rebels, Alisha from The AMWriter and I attended the event in Tampa. This time, the room was full of both adults and teens. Colleen read from the exclusive B&N Limited Edition of Tiger’s Voyage (my sister-in-law got the last one in the store!) and answered questions. I also managed to procure one of the event posters from the store and had it signed by Colleen!

Needless to say, it was an awesome weekend for this Tiger Girl. I will be making a trip out to Portland, Oregon when Colleen holds her launch party for Tiger’s Destiny. You know I’ll be counting down the days until then… In addition, I will be promoting the book the entire month of September right here on the blog as part of my Month of the Tiger.

If you haven’t read the Tiger’s Curse series, yet. Perhaps NOW is the time:
Tiger’s Curse (Book 1) Hardcover | Tiger’s Curse Paperback

How about a giveaway?

Tiger's CurseThis weekend I had Colleen autograph TWO paperback copies of Tiger’s Curse to give away right here on the blog. TWO lucky winners will have the opportunity to win one of these beautiful books, plus a signed bookmark! Would you like to be one of the lucky winners?

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE.
PLEASE DIRECT TO THAT LINK IN THE FUTURE.
If you have entered in the past, do not worry! Your entries have been recorded.

You must be 13 or older to enter.
Open to US and Canada only.
Ends at midnight on June 15, 2012.

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on May 25, 2012, in Author Event, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 67 Comments.

  1. Wow you’re so lucky! I Haven’t read Tiger’s Curse but it sounds totally awesome! I’ve added it to my Goodreads wishlist shelf now.

    I have been to George R.R. Martin’s book signing, tomorrow I’m going to Cassandra Clare’s signing, and in July I’m going to a Dark Days Tour signing! Yay!

    E-Mail: cazzyae (at) gmail (dot) com

  2. I have not been to a signing, but I’m going to BEA. So, I am sure it will be awesome! I haven’t read this yet, but, I would love to!

    :).

  3. I haven’t yet read this series, but it’s been on my TBR list for quite a while now (haven’t been able to find it in paperback and hardbacks are sooo expensive). I would love, love, love to win a copy, especially signed! I’ve never been to a book signing (all the best ones always seem to be too far away), but I bet it’s exciting!

    BK
    buffykennedy[at]gmail[dot]com

  4. I have never been to a book signing, but would love to. Authors just don’t seem to make it anywhere around my town. I haven’t read this series, but I have heard some great things about it!

    hschrock241112 at yahoo dot com

  5. I haven’t been lucky enough to go to a signing =( I haven’t read this yet, but it looks interesting!

    tweeted: https://twitter.com/trubloodjunkie/status/206017617943740417

  6. Fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Oh ladies!!!!!! Don’t put off reading this series any longer!!!!!!! No TBR’s! It’s a “Must read now” series!!!!! I can not say enough wonderful things about Colleen Houck’s writing! She is by far, my favorite author and this is by far the best series out here! Bias much? Perhaps, but I have no doubts you will love it!

  7. I’ve been to a few book signings. Most were at ALA 2010, and I could not even begin to recount all of them.

    Recently, I went to a Jackson Pearce signing, and then another signing with Jackson Pearce, Elizabeth Eulberg, and Jen Calonita.

  8. I’ve only ever been to one book signing, and that was for Bernie Sander’s book The Speech. Haha. I’m a poli-sci nerd, I know.

    Tweet: https://twitter.com/bderenzis/status/206020005987487744

  9. I went to my first book signing last week! It was Myra McEntire and Amy Plum, and they were both SO nice and funny. It was such a great time. I haven’t read Tiger’s Curse yet, so I’m excited to give it a try. Great giveaway!

  10. It sounds like you had a ton of fun! 🙂

    I was fortunate enough to go an event called Passion and Prose, where I got to meet a TON of authors! The event was really cool because we really got to talk to the authors, and get everything signed. There I met Meg Cabot (!!! My all time favorite author and the reason I went to it!), the entire Breathless Panel (Beth Revis (Across the Universe), Marie Lu (Legend), Andrea Cremer (Nightshade), Jessica Spotswood (Born Wicked), and Sara Etienne Wilson (Harbinger)), Marissa Meyer (Cinder), Jessi Kirby (In Honor), Elise Allen (co author of Hilary Duff’s Elixir Series), and SOOO Many MORE. At the event I got to sit and eat lunch right next to Marissa Meyer (and have an awesome conversation with her!), and sit a table over from Meg Cabot! (It was seriously the coolest day of my life!)

    And in November of 2010, I went to a Hilary Duff signing.

    And then this April I went to a signing where Gayle Forman (If I Stay/Where She Went), Stephanie Perkins (Anna and the French Kiss/Lola and the Boy Next Door), and Nina LaCour (The Disenchantments) were there.

    I’ve been SOOO fortunate this year to have the opportunity to meet so many great authors!
    I really would LOVE to meet Cassandra Clare, Simone Elkeles, Sarah Dessen, and SOOO many more!! 🙂

    Here’s my Tweet:

  11. Mary Shoemaker

    Most AMAZING books ever!!! I am so incredibly obsessed with this series and Colleen just seems like the sweetest person. I would love to meet her someday. I’m so happy that you got to meet with her. So the answer to the question, “Have you ever been to a book signing.” Sadly, I have not. Living in such a small area most defiantly has its disadvantages. Not giving up on going to one though, even if it means traveling out of my way to do it, but for now I will have to live vicariously through all my lovely book obsessed ladies. 😉 Thank you so much for all the book reviews, interviews, and contests. You ladies are awesome. Oh and I tweeted. Thank You for such a awesome contest and good luck to everyone.

  12. I haven’t read Tiger’s Curse yet either, but want to very badly! I’ve heard nothing but awesome things about it! and I will always take your recs to heart too 🙂
    I have only been to one signing, and it was Jess Rothenberg’s debut night for The Catastrophic History of You and Me. It was at Books of Wonder in NYC, it was wonderful! It was a small, intimate gathering that consisited mostly her family, friends and a few bloggers.
    I am looking forward to going their more often for other signings! I don’t know if I’ll brave the lines for any signings at BEA, lol! but I do plan on seeing the author’s of Belle’s and Take a Bow later in June right here on Long Island 🙂 It’s not often that author’s come out any where near the east end, lol!
    Thanks for the giveaway 🙂 and here’s my tweet too:

  13. I’ve actually never been to a signing. I do hope to remedy that situ soon.
    Tweet: I entered to win 1 of 2 signed copies of Tiger’s Curse from @MTGReviews – and so should you! http://wp.me/p23I0x-10I

  14. Unfortunately, I haven’t been to a book signing..yet! I wish more authors would come to Hawaii. =)

    Tweeted: https://twitter.com/lilboxism/status/206051599737556993

  15. I was lucky enough to go one book signing where the author actually came to my high school. It was Ned Vizzini. He was just amazing and really funny 🙂

  16. Amber Jorgensen

    I love Tiger’s Curse bt Colleen Houck. It’s the Best book I’ve read in a very Long time!

  17. Amber Jorgensen

    I love the Tigers curse series, Kishan is my favorite character, but I love all the characters-which is not normal for any book or show that I like! The book has you going through the emotions with the characters, which is what makes it the best!I tweeted the bonus tweet on my twitter, but I dont know how to find the URL! so heres a copy of my tweet Amber Jorgensen ‏@_Amber_Rose_
    I entered to win 1 of 2 signed copies of Tiger’s Curse(The best series ever) from @MTGReviews – Everyone should! http://wp.me/p23I0x-10I

    View mediaHide mediaReply Delete FavoritedFavorite
    Tiger’s Curse Author Event Coverage + Giveaway!
    Last weekend was one of the greatest weekends in my life as a book blogger. That’s not saying much, since I haven’t been a blogger for very long, but it is still significant to me. Last weekend COLLEEN HOUCK, author of the best selling TIGER’S CURSE series visited my town not one but TWO days in a row. First, on Friday, May 18, she visited a Barnes and Noble just a few miles from my house, then on Saturday, May 19, she was at another location less than a mile from my work place. I was ecstatic to say the least, and felt a bit of pressure due to the fact that, as Colleen has claimed, it was thanks to my adamant requests (and those of my family and friends) that brought her here.

    Flag this media WordPress 12:06 PM – 25 May 12 via web · Details

    I’ll guess this may be it though I’m not sure
    https://twitter.com/#!/?tw_p=twt

  18. In elementary school Bill Wallace came to our library. He signed my copy of Beauty and A Dog Called Kitty.

  19. Woo! thank you so much for this awesome chance! I love the Tiger’s Saga and cannot wait for book 4! I’d love to get my hands on an autographed copy 😉 thanks so much for the chance to win! Oh, and just last month I went to a nearby signing with Jay Asher…. It was AWESOME<3 he was so cool and funny…. so glad i got to meet him!

    Diana

  20. I have not been to a book signing yet, hopefully someday! Thanks for the chance to win!

  21. DeeDee Griffin

    I haven’t read Tiger’s Curse yet, but I’ve read the awesome reviews and added to my TBR list! I’ve never been to a book signing either. I guess I don’t get out much 🙂
    Thanks for offering the giveaway!
    deedee [at] grifmail [dot] com

  22. I’ve been to many author signings because my bookstore is freaking awesome 🙂 I’ve met Veronica Roth, Jodi Meadows, Orson Scott Card, Marissa Meyer, Michael Grant, Beth Revis, Jessica Spotswood, Marie Lu, Andrea Cremer, Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and more 🙂

  23. I have been to Kim Harrison’s book signing for Perfect Bloood. It was awesome.
    autumflower6ATaolDOTcom

  24. deadtossedwaves

    I’ve been to a couple of signings. Melissa de la Cruz and Randy Russell. I love signings!! Wish I could go to more.

    tweet:

    Vivien
    deadtossedwaves at gmail dot com

  25. No, sadly, I haven’t been to an author’s event yet =( Not many occur where I live. I did read Tiger’s Curse and loved it! I can’t wait until Tiger’s Destiny comes out! I’m counting down days as well 😄

  26. oh nope, not to any signings

  27. The Tigers Saga is AMAZING!!!!! These books are my all time favorites. I’m obsessed with this series! I made 3 posters and I always make stuff on the computer. When I was reading Tigers Voyage, I got so excited when Ren got his memory back I started jumping up and down on my couch screaming. I always try to get the new book the day it comes out and once I get it I won’t put it down at all. My mom had to tell me to put it down because I brought it into stores and everywhere. Sadly I have not been to a book signing. I am dying to go to Collens release party but sadly im on the other side of the country and I’m only a kid. TEAM REN 🙂

  28. I enjoyed attending both signings with you and buying the second and third book in the series. Thanks again for inviting me. 🙂

  29. Mary Shoemaker

    My tweet for today. Thanks again for the contest.

  30. I LOVE the Tiger’s Curse series!!! I have been to a few book signings: James Rollins, Tim Lahaye, and Laura Numeroff, the author of ‘If you Give a Mouse a Cookie…” This is my Tweet URL for the bonus entry: https://twitter.com/SummerEllenLane/status/206563373196906499

  31. Cordelia Fitzgerald

    Unfortunately I live in a small town that doesn’t attract many authors so I haven’t had the opportunity to go to a book signing.
    I have read the series and am absolutely in awe of colleen’s imagination. My only concern is that I’m scared that if the relationships ever turn sappy and we’re left with Ren being a helpless lovesick puppy I will be so upset! I would love to have my own copy of this book. I usually have to depend on waiting on the copy in the library to reread whenever a new book comes out. It would be pretty awesome to have a copy, especially one that’s signed!

  32. Shaina Jachim

    HOLY! Woo!! I have read the first book so far, and I own the next two, but I have sooooo many to be read books that I am soo behind and haven’t gotten to them just yet. I went to RT book convention! I loved it! I had so much fun!!!
    Here is my tweet:
    https://twitter.com/ShainaJachim/status/206780703952740352

    Thanks so much!!!
    Shaina

  33. we don’t get many authors anymore where i live. in high school my bff and i went to see nicholas sparks 3 times, and that was almost 10 years ago. but since then i’ve only seen one author anytime recently. amy plum came to one of our libraries because she grew up where i live. other than that sadly no authors.
    i haven’t read any of this series yet, but it’s been on my list for a while and i definitely need to read it.

  34. Donna Knight

    I’ve never been to a book signing but recently I had dinner with Michelle Madow the writer of Remembrance. My whole family went and a great time. The Tiger Series is one of my favorite series and I plan on reading it again.

  35. ive read the series and i love it so much and as a person with reading problems i really enjoyed it and i was pulled in so much that i didnt get frustrated while reading. This is the only series i didnt give up on and quit reading. ive had so many questions and ive asked colleen on facebook. i love interacting with the other people who have read the books and i cant wait for the next book to come out!!!!!!

  36. Maneesha Haroon

    Wow… Tiger’s curse has been on my TBR for long! Cant wait to read it!!
    I’m from India and sadly we don’t have signings there but now that I’m in the US, I’m hoping I’ll get the chance!!

  37. I have never been to a book signing but it looks like fun! The Tiger’s curse is on my TBR list and I can’t wait to read it!

  38. I almost went to one of Colleen’s signings that weekend, but work totally got in the way. It would’ve been a two hour drive for me and I couldn’t really afford the gas, so I left it up to fate. If I was scheduled I’d go to work, if I was work I’d take it as a sign and go to the book signing. Sadly, I was scheduled. 😦

    I’ve gone to a couple book signings. The best was in April 2009. It was the middle of finals right before my graduation. My local Borders was hosting Melissa Marr, Jennifer Lynn Barnes, Jeaniene Frost, Rachel Vincent, and Mark Del Franco so I made the drive home for the event (instead of studying). It was my first signing and it was awesome. I also drove to Miami (4.5 hours) for Lauren Kate’s release of Passion last summer. I wish I lived closer because Books & Books hosts so many events and is a really cool bookstore. Some others I’ve gone to are Kristen Painter, Sherrilyn Kenyon & Dianna Love, and Charlaine Harris. And I’m actually going to one this Sunday that’s for the used bookstore’s anniversary.

  39. I have read all 3 Tiger’s Curse books and I’m simply in love with them. I am forcing all my frinds to read it and they are actually thanking me for making them read it. LOVE IT

  40. Mary Shoemaker

    My tweet for today, thank you.

  41. I’ve never been to a book signing unfourtunately…
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Colleen’s books 🙂 Maybe as much as you 😉 It’s seriously the best series EVER! and all you people who haven’t read it, get on it! ….or maybe wait until they are all out so you don’t have to suffer the agonizing wait that everyone that already read it has to! ;D
    I tweeted!: https://twitter.com/VickieReljin/status/207944866448158720
    and I’ve been meaning to tell you, Jenna, I saw some of your artwork on Colleen’s Pinterest board and it is FANTASTIC! you really have a gift 🙂
    Thank you so much for the giveaway!

    • THANK YOU for your compliments on my artwork, Vickie! I love finding out that someone out there loves Tiger’s Curse as much as we do here on the blog. It’s thanks to Tiger’s Curse that Holli and Jen (my co-reviewers) and I all met each other. 🙂

      Good luck!

  42. Mary Shoemaker

    My tweet for today:

  43. Mary Shoemaker

    My tweet for today. <3Ren

  44. Mary Shoemaker

    My tweet for today.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup (4) + Book Haul! (vlog) « Making the Grade

Leave a Reply

