First Comes Love: Interview + Love in Bloom Giveaway!



This week, Making the Grade is taking part in the Love in Bloom Giveaway Hop. As part of the Hop, we are giving away an ARC of First Comes Love by Katie Kacvinsky. In addition, we have an exclusive interview with Katie Kacvinsky right here on the blog for you to enjoy! To view the interview and to enter for your chance to win the giveaway please continue reading below:

This hop ends on Wednesday, May 23, 2012, at midnight.

First Comes LoveFirst Comes Love
By Katie Kacvinsky
May 8, 2012
Ages 14 and up
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Reviewed: ARC (from publisher)
Author’s Website
Hardcover | Kindle

Read Our Review

Like his name, Gray is dark and stormy. Dylan, a girl always searching for what’s next, seemingly unable to settle down, is the exact opposite: full of light and life. On the outside, they seem like an unlikely couple. But looks can be deceiving and besides, opposites attract.

What starts as friendship, turns into admiration, respect and caring, until finally these two lone souls find they are truly in love with each other.

But staying in love is not as easy as falling in love. If Dylan and Gray want their love to last, they’re going to have to work at it. And learn that sometimes love means having to say you’re sorry.

THE INTERVIEW:

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I’m  a loner, but I’m also a people person. I’ve lived all over the place (my record is moving nine times in two years).  I love people watching. I love doing random things, like wearing a prom dress to go grocery shopping.  I like to keep people guessing.

Wow, sounds a lot like my life! What do you do when you’re not writing? (For fun, that is!)

When I’m not writing or reading or daydreaming, I’m usually outside. I live in Oregon, close to the coast, and close to rainforests and amazing hiking trails.  It’s a great place for loners because there are so many desolate spots to explore.

I also love sports. I’m a diehard NCAA basketball fan and an NFL fan, and in the summers I love going to minor league baseball games. Every morning my husband and I listen to sports talk radio. I was on the crew team in college, and I played sports growing up, so I have a huge respect for athletes and how hard they work to succeed.

What are you currently reading?

I just started Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil.

Regarding First Comes Love: Are there any events in the book that you yourself have experienced?

Not really any specific events, but I have experienced how frustrating it is to fall in love with somebody when you know timing is going to get in the way. Since I’ve moved around so much, most of my relationships ended because of distance (not because I stopped caring). At some point, you need to say, “Okay, this guy is amazing and I’m not going to let him go.”  At some point you need to work to make a relationship last.

Which character do you find that you relate to more, Gray or Dylan or both? And why?

I relate to both of them equally; I can understand where each of them is coming from because I’ve been in both of their shoes.

What was your favorite chapter (or part of the book) to write and why? (Spoiler free, of course!)

I loved writing about Gray and Dylan’s “first time.” I especially loved writing it from the male perspective;  I was cracking myself up the entire time.  A lot of writers skip around the sex or just “infer” that it happens, maybe to avoid criticism, or because it’s simply awkward to write about, but I couldn’t do that in this book. I treated it as honestly and emotionally as I could.

If there is ONE THING you would like readers to know about First Comes Love, what would it be?

It’s a story about a relationship, pure and simple. If you’re looking for post apocalyptic zombie invasions, this is not the book for you.

Can you reveal anything about your next book, Middle Ground (the sequel to Awaken)? *eye wink*

I’m so excited for Middle Ground.  It’s darker than Awaken, but I think it’s more psychologically interesting, and I think the changes Maddie and Justin are forced to work through will make their characters really fun to write in the third (and final) book of the series.

Do you believe in “love at first sight”?

I would have to say no. I believe in “lust at first sight” (I’ve experienced that one many times) and I think you can instantly click with people, but love is trickier. You need to understand a person’s weaknesses as well as their strengths, you need to accept their flaws, you need to go though some hard times together to really love and appreciate them, and that takes time.

Chocolate or vanilla?

Mmm, both please.

Pepsi or Coke?

Neither. I’m a full out coffee girl.

Tom or Jerry?

Tom. He never gives up, even if Jerry plugs his tail into an electric outlet.

Is there anything more you would like to say to fans?

If you’re my fan, then I pretty much love you and I would love to pick you up and spin you around in circles. I once tweeted that writers need readers like fish need water. You keep us floating. So, if you’re my fan, then, THANK YOU.

Oh, one last thing, I am mailing people free autographed bookplates if they buy First Comes Love during the month of May (or if they preordered it before May). To find out how to get one, visit my blog post.

Thank you for visiting Making the Grade, Katie!

Enter to Win an ARC of First Comes Love!

This giveaway is OVER. Congratulations to Ashley Evans, who won the ARC of First Comes Love! You have been emailed. Please respond to the email within 72 hours or a new winner will be selected. Thank you to all who entered and commented below!

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on May 17, 2012, in Five Star, Giveaway, Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 56 Comments.

  1. I love relationship novels and this one sounds really good and honest. I look forward to reading it and really enjoyed the interview as well. Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. I like MTG on Facebook – Crystal Williams Fulcher

  3. +1 I follow on Twitter: @cfulcher
    +1 email subscriber, crystalfulcher(at)ec.rr.com
    +1 tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/cfulcher/status/203164718913957888

  4. This sounds like a fun book!

  5. Thanks for the interview! This book sounds really intriguing! And I’m totally in the mood for another romance novel. I’m reading one now and I’m just craving more!

    +1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook: Ashley Evans
    +1 follow on Twitter: @booknookblog
    +1 Being an email subscriber: cazzyae (at) gmail (dot) com

  6. Thanks for the chance to win!!
    +1 email subscriber: natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  7. Trying to keep track of the steps here. lol
    +1 for the comment
    +1 for liking on FB: Lauren Terry Mackesy
    +1 for following on Twitter: @mommabearsbooks
    +1 for being an email subscriber: Lmackesy @ gmail.com

    Thanks!
    Lmackesy @ gmail.com

  8. The Lovely Reader

    This sounds like a good read to kick off summer! Thanks for the contest!

  9. deadtossedwaves

    I’m so bloody excited for this release. I really enjoyed Awaken and am really wanting to read more of her work. It’s really captivating!!
    +1 comment
    +1 email subsc: deadtossedwaves at gmail dot com
    +1 @deadtossedwaves
    +1 tweet:

    Thanks!!
    Vivien

  10. Book sounds great! Thanks!

    FB Shauna Olen Buck
    Twitter @jbsmunky
    email jbsmunky@aol.com

  11. Thanks for the giveaway

    +1 Commenting on this post – Done
    +1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook (Leave Facebook name in comment) – Jennifer Bielman
    +1 Following on Twitter (Leave Twitter name in comment) – @JenniferBielman
    +1 Being an email subscriber (Subscribe in the right side bar, leave email address in comment) – autumnflower6ATaolDOTcom

  12. Awesome! I really want to read First Comes Love. Thanks for the great giveaway! 🙂

    +1 Commenting on this post
    +1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook: Kenia Cabrera
    +1 Following on Twitter: @sirekeni014
    +1 Being an email subscriber: linda_flor019@hotmail.com
    +1 Tweeting about the giveaway. – https://twitter.com/#!/sirekeni014/status/203271384489668608

  13. DeeDee Griffin

    +1 Sounds great, thanks for offering the giveaway!
    +1 Facebook: DeeDee Brinkman Griffin
    +1 Twitter: @DeeDeeGriffin.com
    +1 Email deedee [at] grifmail [dot] com

  14. +1 I really enjoyed Awaken, so I’m curious to try her contemporary!
    +1 Following on Twitter (@Reader_Fictions)

  15. I love Katie Kacvinsky – she’s awesome. My favorite book is “Awaken”.
    +1 For Facebook: Nicole Mardell
    +1 for Twitter: @nicolemardell
    + Subscriber!
    and my tweet can be found here… https://twitter.com/#!/nicolemardell/status/203305256254320641

  16. Thanks so much for the giveaway!!

    +1 For Comment
    +1 Follow on Twitter: @geekchic_mag
    +1 Like on Facebook: Mag M at Geek Chic
    +1 Follow by email: mag.geekchic@yahoo.com
    +1 For Tweeting about the Giveaway: https://twitter.com/#!/geekchic_mag/status/203307449971769346

  17. Bridget Howard

    This looks great Thanks for the great giveaway!!!!!
    +1 FB Bridget Howard
    +1 Twitter: BridgetHoward3
    Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/BridgetHoward3/status/203313508392239104

  18. +1 comment
    +1 sub via email (kim3317@hotmail.com)

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  19. Hello! Thanks for doing another giveaway.

    +1 Comment
    +1 Facebook Tobi Helton maiden name is part of name on fb too don’t want to show
    +1 Twitter
    +1 Email
    +1 Tweeted

    Thanks again! ❤ Tobi

  20. +1 Comment
    +1 Twitter @FallingforYA

    Thanks for the fabulous giveaway and the great interview, I really enjoyed reading it =)

  21. Facebook- Jaime Lynn Lester
    Twitter- @JaimeLLester
    Tweet- https://twitter.com/#!/JaimeLLester/status/203727738807394304
    Email- jeepgirl529@yahoo.com

    Thanks so much for this giveaway! I am hearing great things about First Comes Love. I like how deep and dark the synopsis sounds. I am excited to read this, won or not. Good luck everybody!

  22. thanks for this giveaway. I follow you on facebook and twitter
    Gale pgan427@yahoo.com

  23. •+1 Commenting on this post
    •+1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook (Leave Facebook name in comment)

    *Nicole Lauer Peterson*

    •+1 Following on Twitter (Leave Twitter name in comment) *@trubloodjunkie*

    •+1 Being an email subscriber (Subscribe in the right side bar, leave email address in comment)

    *Sweetypetey2004@yahoo.com*

    •+1 Tweeting about the giveaway. Copy & Paste: I entered to win an ARC of FIRST COMES LOVE from @MTGReviews at http://wp.me/p23I0x-RB (Leave tweet URL in comments)

    * https://twitter.com/#!/trubloodjunkie/status/203857845316358145*

  24. Maria S(Pronounced Mariah)

    This book looks so good! Thanks for the chance!

    Twitter folloer @maria_smith_76
    Tweet: https://mobile.twitter.com/Maria_Smith_76/status/203945285737660417

  25. Maria S(Pronounced Mariah)

    Forgot my email
    Mmafsmith at gmail dot com

  26. Thanks for doing this giveaway! 🙂 If I win, my email is grigory99 at yahoo dot com

    *crosses fingers* 😉

  27. I liked “Making the Grade” on Facebook for the 2nd entry. (Grigory Lukin)

  28. I’m already your Twitter follower. 🙂 @grigorylukin

  29. Tiffany Sill

    Thank you for the giveaway! I’ve been waiting (Impatiently) for this book 🙂

    +1 Commenting on this post
    +1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook: Tiffany Renee Sill
    +1 Following on Twitter: Love_Addict1995
    +1 Being an email subscriber: brokenheartedemo@hotmail.com
    +1 Tweeting about the giveaway:

    +5 🙂

  30. What? A teen book that mentions love in the cover and ISN’T about love at first sight? Admiration, respect, and caring, and THEN love? Love you have to WORK at?

    I must have this book.

    Thanks for the giveaway! (Oh, and I’m a Twitter follower and email subscriber)

    @shelver506

    shelver506 at gmail dot com

  31. Christina Torres-Salas

    Thanks for the chance at this great giveaway! This has been on my to-read list sometimes you have to change up what your reading too many paranormals books and they all start to blur contemporaries are fresh breath of air sometimes.

    +1 Commenting on this post
    +1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook: Christina Torres-Salas
    +1 Following on Twitter: @deasuluna
    +1 Being an email subscriber: huntress023@hotmail.com
    +1 Tweeting about the giveaway:https://twitter.com/#!/deasuluna/status/204032808782536705

  32. Thanks for the giveaway!

    +1 Comment
    +1 FB Like: Lisa Jay
    + Twitter follower: @LisaLLibrarian
    +1 Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/LisaLLibrarian/status/204064203789701121

    leyser73 at gmail dot com

  33. Cindy Macbeth

    Thank you for the chance to win your giveaway.

  34. Jennifer Metz

    Thanks so much for the giveaway!
    +1 comment
    +1 FB like: Jennifer Vice Metz
    +1 Twitter – @jennifermetz83
    +1 email subscriber – draoi7383 @ yahoo.com

  35. Thanks for the giveaway!

    +1 Comment
    +1 Twitter Follow – @BookishPoodle
    +1 Email subscriber – yohitzmichelle @ live.com
    +1 Tweet Msg – https://twitter.com/#!/BookishPoodle/status/204117471295324161

  36. This book sounds wonderful! Thanks for the giveaway!

    +1 Comment
    +1 FB: Kimmie’s Bookshelf
    +1 Twitter: @Kim_McFarland89
    +1 Email Subscriber
    +1 Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/Kim_McFarland89/status/204299047945777152

    +5 Total Entries

    kimmiemcfarland(at)gmail.com

  37. I can’t wait to read this one- thanks for the interview!

    +1 Comment
    +1 FB: Twisting the Lens
    +1 E-mail subscriber

    twistingthelens@gmail.com

  38. thanks for the chance to win!

  39. i follow via FB

    cathy c

  40. email subscriber

  41. Shaina Jachim

    Woo! Thanks so much for this rocking giveaway! 😀

    facebook: Shaina Jachim
    twitter: ShainaJachim
    email: shaina333@comcast.net
    and this of course is my comment! 😀

    So thats 4 woo!
    thanks again! YOU ROCK!
    Shaina

  42. Great giveaway! I’m excited about this release.

    +1 comment
    +1 facebook (alpaca narwhal)
    +1 twitter (BooknShortLatte)
    +1 email (scr15[at]duke[dot]edu)

    So total of 4. Thanks!

  43. I really can’t wait for this one! Great interview 😀

    +1 Comment
    +1 Facebook: Rabiah Rowther
    +1 Twitter: @iliveforreading
    +1 Tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/iliveforreading/status/204563905194897408

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!

    iliveforreading AT hotmail DOT com

  44. This book looks so good!

    +1 Commenting on this Post
    +1 Like on Facebook: Emily Kaiser
    +1 Twitter Follower: theladyreads
    +1 Email Subscriber: emilykaiser24(AT)yahoo(DOT)com
    +1 Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/theladyreads/status/204647748757225472

  45. Tracy Awalt Juliano

    +1 Thanks for the awesome giveaway! This sounds like a fantastic book 🙂
    +1 FB: Tracy Awalt Juliano
    +1 Twitter: @tracyjuliano
    +1 email: tjuliano1975(at)gmail(dot)com
    +1 Tweeted: https://twitter.com/TracyJuliano/status/204716542397657088

  46. Thank you for the chance

  47. I enjoyed the interview.
    What a great giveaway. Thank you for the chance.
    Liked on Facebook
    Already followed on Twitter
    Tweeted about giveaway

    Books Live Forever

  48. Courtney Wyant

    + 1 Thanks for the amazing giveaway
    +1- FB: Nikki Fortson
    +1 Twitter- @CourtsBookNook
    cwyant3497@gmail.com

  49. Thanks for the chance. It’s not normally a book I would buy, but I would definitely read it.

    +1 twitter @theimaginetree

  50. Racquel (A Book Barbie)

    NINE times in TWO years :O :O I would love to meet Katie irl, especially when she’s in her prom dress xD and seriously, at this “A lot of writers skip around the sex or just “infer” that it happens, maybe to avoid criticism, or because it’s simply awkward to write about, but I couldn’t do that in this book. I treated it as honestly and emotionally as I could.” my respect for Katie has multiplied by 79375917056129760876926797191971!!!
    My twitter: @purplebull7
    my tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/purplebull7/status/205098187835457539

  51. Thank you for the great giveaway! Sounds like a great book would love to read it!
    +1 comment
    +1 Twitter-latishajean
    +1 Facebook-latisha D
    +1 Email subscriber
    +1 Tweeted

    tishajean@ charter.net

  52. 1 Thank you for the fabulous giveaway!
    +1 Twitter Follower: ruthhill74
    +1 reTweet: https://twitter.com/theladyreads/status/204647748757225472

  1. Pingback: Love in Bloom Giveaway Hop « simplyinfatuated

  2. Pingback: Weekly Roundup (3) + Book Haul! (vlog) « Making the Grade

Leave a Reply

