Book Review: Revived

RevivedRevived
By Cat Patrick
May 8, 2012
Ages 14 and up
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Reviewed: Final Copy (from publisher)

Author’s Website
Hardcover | Kindle

As a little girl, Daisy Appleby was killed in a school bus crash. Moments after the accident, she was brought back to life.

A secret government agency has developed a drug called Revive that can bring people back from the dead, and Daisy Appleby, a test subject, has been Revived five times in fifteen years. Daisy takes extraordinary risks, knowing that she can beat death, but each new death also means a new name, a new city, and a new life. When she meets Matt McKean, Daisy begins to question the moral implications of Revive, and as she discovers the agency’s true goals, she realizes she’s at the center of something much larger—and more sinister—than she ever imagined.

JENNA’S REVIEW

What I loved most as I began reading REVIVED was that, aside from the stunning cover and the interesting summary, I had no idea how I would feel about the book or what I really expected out of it. I am happy to say that I was very pleasantly surprised by the outcome of this book and I am even happier to say that I loved it.

Plot: 10

Overall, Revived is a fairly light, character driven read – despise the topic of death and the impending danger that you know is coming. Starting off with one of her “deaths” that forces her to hit the road again, much of the resulting story focuses on Daisy’s adjustment to living in a new town and her interactions with the friends she makes there. The overlying plot builds at a gradual pace as you read and follow Daisy as she attempts to uncover a mystery about the organization that has allowed her to live again and again. One specific side story that occurs in the book seriously caught me off guard, and because of it I can almost guarantee that you’ll shed a few tears while reading. There isn’t really much “science fiction” or dark and creepy story telling going on here, what makes Revived such an outstanding read is the true-to-life questions that the book raises about living, dying and how fragile life really is. At it’s core, that’s what Revived is all about.

Characters: 9

I LOVE Daisy. I want her to be my second daughter. It was refreshing to get inside the head of a teenager with a strange… situation…. who really just wants to be a teenager. She’s intelligent, (she blogs!), she has a sweet and sincere personality. She’s just an all-round adorable young lady and I loved following her story. I also love how flippant the author made her toward death. Seriously, she behaved just as I thought one would if they never had to worry about dying “for reals”… Not to say she was a dare devil, more like it was in her words and reactions toward dying.

I also enjoyed the friends she made in Nebraska, Matt and Audrey. Matt was such a nice young man and Audrey’s upbeat personality that perfectly complimented Daisy’s pulled me into her story. In addition, I thrilled at the inclusion of a trans-gender character that was included in the book. Super sassy! Daisy’s “family” also had a solid place in the overall plot. In all, I only had one concern about the characters, and that concern involved one of them being a bit predictable. I knew how this particular character would be implicated in the climax before it even came into play. Though, thank goodness, the climax was no less enjoyable in spite of it.

Setting: 8

One thing that surprised me about the places that Daisy and her “family” elected to live is the fact that they seemed to prefer small towns as opposed to larger cities. I would think that a person in her situation would rather live in a large city where the could simply get lost among millions. But then again, I guess they may have been thinking: small town = less danger = less chances of dying? If that’s the logic, then Small Town, USA it is!

Pacing: 8

Despite the short length of the book, the story advances at a slightly slow pace. A LOT of time is spend developing the kinship between Daisy and her first “real friends”. Yet, it is those friends who become a major part of the story later on, so developing this rapport with them is an integral part of the book. While it did not affect my reading experience, some may be deterred by the lack of dark, fearful, or extremely tense moments throughout the book. (Trust me, these moments will come in abundance at the very end, though!)

Style: 9

I personally love Cat’s writing style. She gives a voice to her characters that makes them sound like our modern youth if they are teens (the text messages were a nice touch to portray their individual personalities), that makes Daisy’s “parents” appear to be disconnected with the world and that makes the reactions of all her characters seem real and not contrived. I was simply devastated at certain parts of the book, thanks to the overall “real-to-life” atmosphere that Cat brings to each situations. Cat also drops in a bit of foreshadowing here and there that I hadn’t realized was foreshadowing until the related events played out. Nice job, Cat, very nice job. Finally, I enjoyed the mystery elements to the story. Sleuthing with Daisy was just plain fun. I just hope that readers who had certain expectations heading into this book (about the techie/dark parts of it) aren’t disappointed about all that stuff being second to the character emphasis.

I am so pleased that I enjoyed REVIVED as much as I did. While this installment certainly wraps up many of the story elements, the ending leaves it open enough that there absolutely MUST be a sequel… I, for one, cannot wait to read more of Daisy’s story.

Grade: 94

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on May 11, 2012, in Book Review, Four & 1/2 Star and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This sounds really good! Awesome review! Added to my TBR!

  2. Great review. I was originally turned off by the cover (it seemed like it might be a dark murder mystery) but your review makes me want to pick it up. I especially like your description of Daisy.

    • Nope, definitely not a “murder mystery”. It is hard to describe the type of book that Revived is without giving the plot away. I would say “contemporary read meets technological mystery”. There is more “contemporary” in this one than anything else. Seriously, one plot element will catch any reader off guard and changes the type of book that Revived is completely.

  3. Hmmm…..Revived sounds like a unique book. Daisy must be a daring person to take chances with death. I must say, I’m intrigued by the storyline. Is this something I wood like?

    • It’s not that she takes chances with death, she doesn’t. She just has this flippant attitude toward it which becomes obvious through some of the things she says and does. There is one moment in the book in particular when this is most clear. Must be nice when you don’t have to fear death.

      You might like it. It’s more contemporary than much of what you read, but it has similarities to other books and movies you like. I would give it a chance if I were you.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup (2) + Book Haul! (vlog) « Making the Grade

Leave a Reply

