Make it a Movie Monday (13) + Giveaway: The Immortal Rules

This meme is a way to discuss the books that have made their way to film, or to talk about the books we wish would be made into a movie. You are open to talk about any book out there in any way that you want. For example: Who would you have play the leads in the movie? Who would direct? Animated or live action? Etc. For more info about how to include your own Make it a Movie Monday (MiaMM) on your blog, click here.

This week my meme will focus on The Immortal Rules – This book was a daring, new direction for Julie Kagawa, author of the Iron Fey series. Luckily, The Immortal Rules is a brilliant dystopian story that has already been optioned for film. Here’s hoping that it actually makes it into production and to the big screen! Needless to say, I am beyond thrilled to showcase this title on my Make it a Movie Monday. Click here to read our review of The Immortal Rules.

We’re giving away a finished copy of The Immortal Rules!
Entry information is located at the bottom of this post.

StartersThe Immortal Rules
By Julie Kagawa
April 24, 2012
Harlequin Teen
Author’s Website
Purchase from Amazon

In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity. Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them. The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked—and given the ultimate choice. Die…or become one of the monsters. Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad. Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend—a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike. But it isn’t easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what—and who—is worth dying for.

Jenna’s The Immortal Rules Dream Cast:

Brenda Song Orlando Bloom Colton Haynes

(Left to right)
Allison Sakamoto – Brenda Song – Actress, Singer (The Social Network, The Suite Life of Zack & Cody)
Kanin – Orlando Bloom – Actor (Pirates of the Caribbean)
Zeke – Colton Haynes – Actor (Teen Wolf)

David Carradine Christopher Walken Cillian Murphy

(Left to right)
Jeb –
David Carradine – Actor, Deceased (Kill Bill)
Sarren – Christopher Walken – Actor (Pulp Fiction, Balls of Fury)
Jackal – Cillian Murphy – Actor (Batman Begins, The Dark Knight)

Enter to Win a copy of The Immortal Rules!

This giveaway is OVER. Congratulations to Sara Slattery, who won the finished copy of The Immortal Rules! You have been emailed. Please respond to the email within 72 hours or a new winner will be selected. Thank you to all who entered and commented below!

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on May 7, 2012, in Giveaway, Make it a Movie Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 51 Comments.

  1. I think the book Nevermore by Kelly Creagh, its a crazy book dark and romantic would make a great movie.

  2. Alyssa Susanna

    I think I woul love to see the whole Blue Bloods series as a movie, or possibly a TV show (although there already is a TV shows wth the name Blue Bloods). The series is long, but it seems kind of commercial and would lend itself well to the Hollywood world.

    +1 Comment
    +1 Facebook like (Alyssa Susanna)
    +1 Email (lilleetleet[at]verizon[dot]net)

    TOTAL: 3 entries

    Thanks!!!! from Alyssa ❤

  3. I’d love to see Eldest, the second book in the Inheritance series be made into a movie. I wish they hadn’t stopped after Eragon.

    1. Comment
    2 fb Kelsey Dobbins
    3. Twitter follow itzkelseyd
    4 tweet I entered to win a copy of The Immortal Rules from @MTGReviews at
    http://wp.me/p23I0x-RB
    5. Email subscribed. Poisnivyred AT gmail.com

  4. Christina Torres-Salas

    Oh it’s so hard to choose just one book to turn into a movie, I kinda have a list 🙂 Though if I was to choose it would be first place toss up between Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent or the Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa!

    +1 commenting
    +1 liked MTG on FB: Christina Torres-Salas
    +1 following MTG on Twitter: @deasuluna
    +1 for email subscribing: huntress023@hotmail.com
    +1 for tweeting: https://twitter.com/#!/deasuluna/status/199530466750111744

  5. +1 I think Karen Mahoney’s The Wood Queen would make a killer movie.
    +1 I like Making the Grade on Facebook: Carl Scott
    +1 I follow on Twitter: @carlrscott
    +1 I am an email subscriber: carlscott(at)prodigy(dot)net(dot)mx

  6. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi or Pure by Julianna Baggott both can be really good movies 🙂
    Thanks for the Giveaway!
    +1 Twitter Follower; @saii15
    +1 FB Follower; Sarah Ebbith Cruz Aponte
    +1 Tweet; https://twitter.com/#!/Saii15/status/199539519316443137
    +1 I follow via email

    ebbith0115[at]gmail[dot]com

  7. I would love to see The Scorpio Races in film! Only if they did it right.
    I follow you on twitter, @blackeyedsue21 🙂

  8. I have to pick just one? Can I go with 3 instead?
    1. Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck
    2. Divergent by Veronica Roth
    3. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
    4. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare (I know it’s getting there but it’s going to slow)
    What are you talking about? I only picked 3 😉
    +1 I follow you on Twitter: MissyRissy_rox
    +1 I like you on Facebook: Marissa Walker
    +1 I’m an email subscriber: lollybees3@hotmail.com

  9. I’d love to see Wanderlove be made into a movie!

    I liked on facebook Christina Rita Condomaros

    I’m a twitter follower @christinafiorio

    I’m an email subscriber ccfioriole@gmail.com

    I tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/christinafiorio/status/199554151594721280

  10. I would love to see Divergent get turned into a movie!
    +1 Liked Making the Grade on Facebook as Lilian Cheng
    +1 Followed on Twitter as @lilboxism
    +1 Subscribed with lilianxchengATgmail.com
    +1 Tweeted: http://twitter.com/lilboxism/status/199559237205110784

    lilianxchengATgmail.com
    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox

  11. + “Matched” by Allie Condie
    +1 FB Like (Shauna Olen Buck)
    +1 subscribed via email jbsmunkyataoldotcom

  12. I would like to see Divergent as a movie, also Cinder would be a pretty interesting flim to watch.
    +1 Facebook: Michelle Gilmore
    +1 Twiter: @NLibrisVeritas
    +1 Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/NLibrisVeritas/status/199576432354131968

  13. +1 I would love to see Under the Never Sky as a movie!
    +1 Follow on Twitter @Nawanda_Files
    +1 Email Subscriber: kmritchie02 at gmail dot com

    Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  14. I am mentally picking the cast for Divergent in my dreams everynight!!!
    Email Subscriber : doodlebugsbokkshelfatgmaildotcom
    Twitter follower: @doodlebugsbooks

  15. +1 Most definitely Divergent!! and maybe Starters
    +1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook (FB Name: Jenny Chan)
    +1 Following on Twitter (Twitter name: @immabelieve)
    +1 Being an email subscriber (email: jennybelieves@gmail.com)
    +1 Tweeting about the giveaway. https://twitter.com/#!/immabelieve/status/199585512720310273

  16. I would love to see The Story of Beautiful Girl turned into a movie.
    Facebook: Lauren Terry Mackesy
    Twitter: @mommabearsbooks
    Email: Lmackesy @ gmail.com
    Tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/MommabearsBooks/status/199588929953988609

  17. I would like to see Daughter of Smoke and Bone turned into a movie. I loved how dark and romantic it was.

    Twitter: hisladydiaz
    Facebook: Michelle Diaz
    Email subscriber: hisladydiaz@yahoo.com
    Twitted the giveaway! https://twitter.com/#!/HisLadyDiaz/status/199589457618407424
    Liked already on FB.

  18. I think Angelfall by Susan Ee would make a killer sci-fi movie!

    +1 Facebook Sara Slattery
    +1 Twitter: Forever17Books
    +1 Email subscriber sarabara081@aol.com
    +1 Tweet link https://twitter.com/#!/Forever17Books/status/199600653486661632

    Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

  19. I think The Vampire Academy Series would be great movies!!

    -Amber Graff (FB Name)
    -@midnihgt_rose03 (Twitter Handle)
    -Tweet Link- https://twitter.com/#!/midnight_rose03/status/199614408442384385
    -Email is Skellington5820@aol.com

  20. +1 Commenting and telling me which book you would like to see turned into a movie
    – I’d like to see the Kate Daniels series be turned into movies.
    +1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook (Leave Facebook name in comment)
    – Jennifer Bielman
    +1 Following on Twitter (Leave Twitter name in comment)
    – @JenniferBielman
    +1 Being an email subscriber (Subscribe in the right side bar, leave email address in comment)
    – autumnflower6ATaolDOTcom

  21. DeeDee Griffin

    + I’d love to see Divergent made in to a movie
    + Facebook: DeeDee Brinkman Griffin
    + Twitter:@DeeDeeGriffin00
    + Email follower: deedee@grifmail.com
    Thanks!

  22. I would love to see City of Bones made into a movie!!!
    FB Bridget Howard
    Twitter BridgetHoward3

  23. +I can’t wait for The Immortal Instruments to be a movie…if only there was a different male lead loll 😀
    +Facebook: Shaina Jachim
    +Twitter: ShainaJachim
    +Email: shaina333@comcast.net
    +Tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/ShainaJachim/status/199891955474374658

    Thanks for the giveaway! You ROCK 😀

  24. I’d love to see Daughter of Smoke and Bone be made into a movie 🙂
    Facebook: Jennifer Vu
    Twitter: @fourheadjen
    Email: four.headjen@hotmail.com
    Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/fourheadjen/status/199985973684207617

    Total: 5 🙂

  25. +1: I would like to see any of Shelly Laurentson shifter books made into movies…they are hysterical!!

    +1: FB: wendy dee
    +1: twitter: books4me2
    +1: tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/BooksForMe2/status/199997384590237696
    +1: email subscriber:

    books4me67 at ymail dot com

  26. Yes to Brenda Song! She’s totally who I would cast as Allie!

    +1: I would love to see an Uglies film series.
    +1: I follow you on twitter (@Reader_Fictions)

  27. I’d like to see The Immortal Rules as a movie!
    +1 Fb- Lisa Ann Richards
    +1 Twitter @alterlisa
    +1 https://twitter.com/#!/alterlisa/status/200347164747104256
    +1 email-alterlisa@yahoo.com
    (\___/)
    (=’.’=)
    (“)_(“)

    alterlisa AT yahoo DOT com
    http://lisaslovesbooksofcourse.blogspot.com/

  28. Megan Blackwell

    I’d like to see Divergent made into a movie!
    facebook: Megan Blackwell
    twitter: @megannblackwell
    meganlovesyuu@yahoo.com

  29. +1 twitter: leaflette
    +1 tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/leaflette/status/200978627632967680
    +1 email subscriber: maurapedia@gmail.com
    +1 comment

    I’d love to see Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey turned into a movie; it’s one of my all time fantasy books. A YA book I’d like to see … Cinder by Marissa Meyer or Ash by Malinda Lo.

  30. Lily Sooklal

    +1 I’d like to see any of the Vampire Academy books as movie. There are so many, and I think commercially they would make a lot of money, and produce well.
    +1 Facebook liked a long time ago – Lily Sooklal
    +1 Follower on Twitter – Football__10
    +1 Email Subscriber – lilypi(at)verizon(dot)net
    +1 Tweeted – https://twitter.com/#!/Football__10/status/201397021192634369

    TOTAL – 5 entries

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Lily Sooklal

  31. +1 I’d love to see Delirium in theaters!
    +1 following as @Nikki_Wang
    +1 liked.as Nicole Wang

  32. +1 I’d love to see Delirium in theaters!
    +1 following as @Nikki_Wang
    +1 liked.as Nicole Wang
    piscesgirl1688@gmail.com

  33. +1 I’d love to see Delirium in theaters!
    +1 following as @Nikki_Wang
    +1 liked ad Nicole Wang
    piscesgirl1688@gmail.com

  34. I would love to see Insurgent made into a movie. On the contemporary end, I would love to see Anna and the French Kiss as a movie.

    Like on FB as Lisa Jay
    Follow on Twitter as @LisaLLibrarian
    Tweeted: https://twitter.com/#!/LisaLLibrarian/status/201760714560503808

    leyser73 at gmail dot com

  35. I really want to read this book. I would like the statistical probabilty of love at first sight to be made into a movie I think it would be a totally cute chick flick!!!!
    FB: Bridget Howard
    Twitter: BridgetHoward3
    Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/BridgetHoward3/status/202868124930940929

    Thanks so much
    bridget.howard@hotmail.com

  36. +1 Leave a Comment: I think a Max Ride movie would be AWESOME!
    +1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook: Mag M at Geek Chic
    +1 Following on Twitter: @geekchic_mag
    +1 Being an email subscriber: mag.geekchic@yahoo.com
    +1 Tweeting about the giveaway. https://twitter.com/#!/geekchic_mag/status/203308805650522112

  37. I would love to see Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi turned into a book. Thanks for the giveaway! 😀

    FB: Danielle Bateman
    Twitter: @junecat14
    Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/junecat14/status/203788946759614464

  38. Christian weber

    the vampire academy series

  39. As I was reading it, I really wanted The Immortal Rules to be turned into a movie. It has all the elements for it.

    +1 Comment on the Post
    +1 Liked on Facebook – Emily Kaiser
    +1 Following on Twitter – theladyreads
    +1 Email subscriber – emilykaiser24(AT)yahoo(DOT)com
    +1 Tweet About the Giveaway – https://twitter.com/#!/theladyreads/status/204633772501630977

    Thanks for the great giveaway! I loved this book!

  40. I would love to see Dark Lover made into a movie. Yum… The BDB on the big screen? I’d paid to see that. 🙂

  41. 1. I’d love to see Good Omens by Neil Gaiman/Terry Pratchett turned into a movie!
    2. Beth DeRenzis (Facebook)
    3. @bderenzis (Twitter)
    4. Tweet Link: https://twitter.com/#!/bderenzis/status/204736129197555714

  42. Cinder by Marissa Meyer, absolutelly! Just picture it -pucture Prince Kai!! Now picture me *swooning*, jajaja.

    •+1 Commenting and telling me which book you would like to see turned into a movie
    •+1 Liking Making the Grade on Facebook: Valeria Andrea Buelna Sainz
    •+1 Following on Twitter: @ValeriaAndreaBS
    •+1 Being an email subscriber: vale_andrea932@hotmail.com
    •+1 Tweeting about the giveaway: https://twitter.com/#!/ValeriaAndreaBS/status/204737299580329984

  43. Divergent!!!!
    +1 Commenting
    +1 Following on Twitter as @Me124Its
    +1 Tweeting https://mobile.twitter.com/Me124Its/status/204747284448149504

  44. I would love if they turned Divergent/ Insurgent Into a movie

  45. I think the ‘Immortal Rules’ would make a fab movie. Good cast choices. +1

  46. I really want to see the Anita Blake Vampire Hunter series made into a movie, but seeing as how there are 20 books in the series it would make more sense to make it a TV show.
    +1 Facebook: Trellyn Kaufman
    +1 Twitter: @Punk_a_doodle
    +1 email: misstrellyn@yahoo.com
    +1 Tweet: https://twitter.com/#!/Punk_a_doodle/status/204949894161637376

  47. +1 I would love to see the book “Tiger’s Curse” by Colleen Houck turned into a movie!
    +1 Facebook: Jeraca Fite
    +1 Twitter: @jeracalea

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup (2) + Book Haul! (vlog) « Making the Grade

  2. Pingback: Winner Announcement: Children’s Book Week Giveaway Hop « Making the Grade

Leave a Reply

