STARTERS: Author Interview + Giveaway

STARTERS
By Lissa Price
March13, 2012
Random House / Delacorte Books
Author’s Website
Order from Amazon

Read Our Five Star Review

In the future, teens rent their bodies to seniors who want to be young again. One girl discovers her renter plans to do more than party–her body will commit murder, if her mind can’t stop it. Sixteen-year-old Callie lost her parents when the genocide spore wiped out everyone except those who were vaccinated first–the very young and very old. With no grandparents to claim Callie and her little brother, they go on the run, living as squatters, and fighting off unclaimed renegades who would kill for a cookie. Hope comes via Prime Destinations, run by a mysterious figure known only as The Old Man. He hires teens to rent their bodies to seniors, known as Enders, who get to be young again. Callie’s neurochip malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her rich renter, living in her mansion, driving her cars, even dating Blake, the grandson of a senator. It’s a fairy-tale new life . . . until she uncovers the Body Bank’s horrible plan…

THE INTERVIEW:

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I am a big believer in dreaming big because whatever it is you want to do, someone has to do it. But of course hard work is part of it. But if you love what you’re doing, then you’re on the right path. I love that I get to write books now and transport readers to this place in my head that combines with their vision to make an entirely new experience.

What do you do when you’re not writing? (For fun, that is!)

I’m not sure I can picture a time when I won’t be writing 24/7 as so much going on now. But back before the book sale, I used to love kayaking, snorkeling, swimming (seeing a theme here?), travel that involves wildlife, films, going out to eat with my friends, and NBA basketball (watching, not playing).

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you either growing up or as an adult?

I was influenced by so many books, but most recently by THE HUNGER GAMES and the UGLIES series. I read many YA  science fiction and fantasy books before I started writing my own.

What are you currently reading?

Ha, you think I have time to read now? I have a huge TBR stack and at the top is CINDER, WHAT’S LEFT OF ME, and many more. But with ENDERS at the first stage of revisions, two e-shorts to write, and other projects in the future, my reading time has been limited.

Regarding STARTERS, what inspired you to write a book that essentially pits the world’s youth against the elderly? How did you come up with this idea?

I was trying to get a flu shot and found out there wasn’t enough. So the government set up a triage system and only the very young, the very old and the infirm could get it. I went away thinking what would happen if this were a killer flu, how there would only be the weakest members of our society left. What would that landscape look like?

And there were the beginnings of STARTERS.

What was your favorite chapter (or part of the book) to write and why?

Probably the confrontation between Callie and The Old Man at the end. Because when it came to me, it felt so deliciously creepy.

Can you reveal anything about the next installment? *eye wink*

Just that you will have more big surprises!

Tease… Well then, if there is ONE THING you would like readers to know about the STARTERS, what would it be?

I was happy to learn from my national tour that STARTERS has broad appeal. Of course I wrote it with teen girls in mind, but it is also appealing to boys from middle grade to teens, to adults.

If you could live to be 200 years old, what would you do to pass the time?

I’m living life at warp speed right now, with little time to do normal things like exercise. So I’d have no trouble filling up time – I’d write more books!

This is your debut novel. How has the road to publishing been for you? Is there any memory that stands out?

I have been so lucky, I’m very grateful to all the wonderful people – agents, my editor, everyone at my publisher, librarians, booksellers, bloggers and newspaper reviewers. And to Kami Garcia for giving me that wonderful quote. I have also just received another quote from Dean Koontz.

The highlight might be getting the call from my agent that the 10-publisher auction had been called off because Random House made a pre-emptive bid at 8:30 at night.

Chocolate or vanilla? Chocolate. Life’s too short for vanilla.

Pepsi or Coke? Diet Coke with extra lemon.

Tom or Jerry? Peeta.

Is there anything more you would like to say to fans?

Yes, we hope to announce some film news in the next couple of weeks!

LissaPrice.com (Free Game & Cover Apps) |  StartersBooks.com
Facebook (Contests & News) | Twitter

Enter to win an ARC of STARTERS!

One winner will receive an ARC of STARTERS.
Open to US residents aged 13 and older only.
Giveaway ends at midnight on Tuesday, May 15, 2012.

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Five Star, Giveaway, Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great interview with Lissa!! Always great to learn more about one of my favorite authors. A film in the future?? Keep us posted!!

  2. Great interview! I have been looking forward to this book for quite some time. It’s such an interesting concept 🙂

  3. Hi! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against
    hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard
    on. Any suggestions?

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup (1) + Book Haul! (vlog) « Making the Grade

Leave a Reply

