Top Ten Books That Should Be Made into a Movie

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we were asked to list our Top Ten Books We Would Like to See Made into a Movie. Of course I could not pass up this opportunity to make such a list! If you follow my Make it a Movie Monday meme, you would know that I think about books being made into movies a lot.

Here’s my list of books I would love to see as a movie:

The Iron KingThe Iron Fey Series (The Iron King) by Julie Kagawa

Imagine a world as magical as the one we saw in Labyrinth, so many years ago. Combine that magic with the brilliant visuals that can be seen on the big screen today and you have a film I would simply adore. The stakes would be infinitely higher and the boys are infinitely hotter (sorry David Bowie). This is my #1 must see book-to-movie.

Tiger's CurseThe Tiger’s Curse Saga by Colleen Houck

Tiger’s Curse has already been optioned by Paramount Pictures, so we are well on our way to seeing this series put to life on the big screen! I can’t wait! (Oh, and have you heard the recent news about The Vampire Diaries producer, Julie Plec, who was selected to write the movie adaptation of the Tiger’s Curse movie? No? Well, now you know!)

The Near WitchThe Near Witch by Victoria Schwab

Ohhh, this would be such an awesome adaptation if handled by M. Night Shyamalan. Yes, I am slightly influenced by his work on The Village, which wasn’t even one of his best films. But if he could learn from his mistakes and apply it to this movie, he could go a looong way to redeeming himself!

The DisenchantmentsThe Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

I could go for a new, edgy contemporary film and The Disenchantments would likely fit the bill. I don’t know who would direct it but this would be one awesome film, regardless… Check out my Make it a Movie Monday for this title.

Across the UniverseA Million Suns by Beth Revis

Of all the YA books that need to be made into movies, the Across the Universe series would definitely make the best sci-fi. Oh, what the filmmakers could do with The Godspeed as their setting. I wonder what fiery red-haired actress they would find to play Amy…

EnchantedEnchanted by Alethea Kontis

This book took me back to my youthful days, when I use to watch Fairy Tale Theatre and dream of such fantastical stories. Fairy tales may live again, as proven by the recent surge of “re-telling” books and the hit show, Once Upon a Time, on television. Enchanted would be a pleasurable movie to see, indeed. (Disney: are you reading this?)

CroakCroak by Gina Damico

Croak sings to the same tune as such films as Beetlejuice or Dogma, only it’s funnier and the protagonist is easier to relate to. This is a film that absolu MUST be made. In fact, I think I’m making this one my next Make it a Movie Monday.

CrewelCrewel by Gennifer Albin

Seeing as this book won’t be released until the fall, I will refrain from saying much except that the movie would certainly provide us some of the best visual splendor that we have seen since… well, What Dreams May Come comes to mind. Or The Matrix? How about a combination of the two? Yup, that sounds about right.

Article 5Article 5 by Kristen Simmons

If any dark and disturbing post-apocalyptic dystopian movie should be made, this is it. The interactions alone between Chase and Ember would make this a most engrossing film. Add in the destruction and suspense and you’ve got yourself a blockbuster. Comparisons to The Road are appropriate, though I know I like Article 5 much more.

StartersStarters by Lissa Price

Starters would be a technologically rich film depicting (yet another) dystopian world. Hunger Games comparisons aside, this one has the most “commercial success” potential of all the films I list above.

Life on the EdgeLife on the Edge by Jennifer Comeaux

I know I’m cheating by adding an extra book, but I could not knowingly leave this one off the list. Life on the Edge would make an ideal book-to-“chick flick” movie. The competition on the ice and tension between the two main characters is where the book’s movie potential lays. If not for theatres, at least make a Lifetime movie out of it!

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on May 1, 2012, in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I could definitely see Starters as a movie too! The Iron King would be awesome! and Enchanted would be so sweet too! Great list 🙂

  2. Nearly all of these are near the TOP of my TBR list, and this just makes me want to read them even more! *sigh* I need someone to just give me a giant box of YA books. Or a giant suitcase full of cash. Or both.

    Here’s my <a href="http://www.thehouseworkcanwait.com/top-ten-tuesday-may-1/"<Top 10 Tuesday!

  3. Whoops, let’s just pretend I did that HTML right. Top 10 Tuesday

    There we go.

  4. I would LOVE to see a movie made from Across the Universe… but I don’t think the world is ready for it. I mean, the entire population of Godspeed is one nationality… how would that blow over? NOT WELL. It does show how vulnerable a society we are because we all strive to be as different as possible, and this story shows that in order to function as a surviving community, nationality and will is to be uniform and controlled (we see how well that works!). Really deep stuff, when you think about it! Good job, Beth Revis – multifaceted story, on all points.

  5. thebookcellarx

    I don’t know how I forgot Iron King in my list? Oy.

    And Article 5 would be super cool as a movie too! 🙂

  6. tinalinatime

    I’m familiar with all of these, but haven’t read any yet. I keep hearing about how badly I need to read the Iron Fey series, so it’s on my summer reading list!

  7. Aww, thanks so much for including Life on the Edge! With the gazillion Cutting Edge sequels they’ve put on TV, surely they could find a place for this skating story with a new twist 🙂 Lifetime, ABC Family…..I’m not picky 😉

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup (1) + Book Haul! (vlog) « Making the Grade

Leave a Reply

