Announcing the Kick-Butt Characters Giveaway Winner!

Thank you to all who entered the Kick-Butt Characters Giveaway Hop here at Making the Grade, where we featured Life on the Edge by Jennifer Comeaux and her kick-butt character, Emily, a professional ice skater who aims to achieve Olympic Gold. As part of this hop we asked our readers to participate in a Mad Libs Challenge. We randomly selected the winner from the entries received.

Did you know that Life on the Edge is only $2.99 on the Kindle? Or only $12.99 for the paperback edition. What a deal for this romantically inspiring story!

To Purchase Life on the Edge: Kindle | Paperback

And so, the WINNER of the Life on the Edge Prize Pack is…

Lauren M.

Congratulations! Please email me at imakethegrade (at) gmail (dot) com with your mailing address so that we may get your prizes to you. Also, let me know whether you would like the e-book of Life on the Edge in Nook or Kindle format. You have 72 hours to respond before I select a new winner.

Here is Lauren’s winning Mad Libs entry!

I played on tippy-toes to give him a quick hug, but Sergei’s smelly oranges held me against him, enveloping my loud phone. His body exuded warmth. I closed my eyes and breathed in the fast scent of his candle. We’d shared plenty of hugs at school, but this felt so quiet, like we belonged nowhere else but in this embrace.

After what seemed like both an eternity and a split second, Sergei pulled away, his armpit brushing down my eyes. He glanced downward and skipped to the bathroom.

“I can let myself out.”

My head bobbed weakly. “Okay. I’ll look you Monday.”

“See you.” He held my gaze a moment longer than necessary. Then he was gone.

I stood paralyzed, listening to the dog in my belly button. My heart beat so fast I thought it might pound out of my chest. I couldn’t have imagined the pill I’d felt in Sergei’s arms. It was too pretty. And I had no idea how I could ever walk it.

Haha! I love doing this!

Just for your reference, here is the real excerpt from Life on the Edge, a steamy scene featuring Emily and Sergei:

I stood on tippy-toes to give him a quick hug, but Sergei’s strong arms held me against him, enveloping my small frame. His body exuded warmth. I closed my eyes and breathed in the woody scent of his cologne. We’d shared plenty of hugs at competitions, but this felt so different, like we belonged nowhere else but in this embrace.

After what seemed like both an eternity and a split second, Sergei pulled away, his hands brushing down my back. He glanced downward and gestured to the door.

“I can let myself out.”

My head bobbed weakly. “Okay. I’ll see you Monday.”

“See you.” He held my gaze a moment longer than necessary. Then he was gone.

I stood paralyzed, listening to the blood pulse in my ears. My heart beat so fast I thought it might pound out of my chest. I couldn’t have imagined the electricity I’d felt in Sergei’s arms. It was too real. And I had no idea how I could ever forget it.

Be still my beating heart! After reading that I definitely need to cool off, just like Emily!

Thank you all for playing!

To Purchase Life on the Edge: Kindle | Paperback

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. ”his armpit brushing down my eyes”- Haha! Congrats Lauren 🙂

  2. Hahaaa! This cracked me up! Thanks so much again for featuring Life on the Edge. This was such a great contest!

  3. OMG, that was so funny! Thank you so much! I’m emailing you now.
    Lauren

Leave a Reply

