Author Interview + Giveaway: Life on the Edge

Life on the Edge
By Jennifer Comeaux
January 3, 2012
Astraea Press
Author’s Website
Paperback | Kindle

Read Our Review of Life on the Edge

Nineteen-year-old Emily is new to pairs skating, but she and her partner Chris have a big dream – to be the first American team to win Olympic gold. Their young coach Sergei, who left Russia after a mysterious end to his skating career, believes they can break through and make history.

Emily and Chris are on track to be top contenders at the 2002 Winter Games. But when forbidden feelings spark between Emily and Sergei, broken trust and an unexpected enemy threaten to derail Emily’s dreams of gold.

Making the Grade is pleased to welcome Jennifer Comeaux, author of Life on the Edge, for an exclusive interview here on the blog. In addition, she is allowing us to host a giveaway as part of the Kick-Butt Characters Giveaway Hop. Be sure to visit the giveaway page to win a Life on the Edge Prize pack and e-book!

THE INTERVIEW

Hi Jennifer! Can you tell us a bit about yourself?
I was born and raised in south Louisiana and stayed close to home for college, graduating from Tulane University with a Master of Accounting degree. Currently, I’m the corporate tax manager for a large company in the New Orleans area. I used to write a lot when I was a kid, but it wasn’t until a few years ago that I started writing again when a friend encouraged me to explore an idea I had for a story. That idea turned into Life on the Edge!

What do you do when you’re not writing? (For fun, that is!)
Travelling and sports-watching are my two big hobbies. As you can probably tell from the subject of my book, I’m a huge fan of figure skating. I’m also a big supporter of Tulane athletics. I have football and baseball season tickets, and during spring you’ll find me at the ballpark almost every weekend. Travelling is my other love, and I especially enjoy travelling to figure skating events. I usually attend two or three per year.

Life on the Edge is about ice skating professionals. Please tell us about your connection to the skating world. What exactly inspired you to write about the subject?
I’ve been a fan of figure skating since I was a little girl. I always watched every competition and show that came on TV, and I thought it would be so fun to attend a competition. In 2001 I attended my first national championship, and I was hooked! Being at the event was so much more exhilarating than watching on TV. Over the years of attending competitions, I’ve learned more about the behind-the-scenes world, and it only increased my fascination with the sport. I think figure skating is the perfect combination of sport and art–it’s so beautiful yet so physically demanding.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?
Growing up, I was addicted to the Sweet Valley High series. I think those books influenced me a lot. I loved all the drama and relationships of the Wakefield twins. I wanted to be Elizabeth!

Regarding Life on the Edge, what was your favorite chapter (or part of the book) to write and why?
The dinner party at Emily’s house was one of my favorite scenes because that’s where I first had the chance to explore the chemistry and the blossoming feelings between Emily and Sergei. I love writing those moments where the characters can feel something happening between them but can’t act on it/aren’t ready to act on it yet. The chapter at the Tokyo nightclub was also one of my favorites, but I don’t want to give any details about it that will spoil the story! You’ll have to read the book to find out why that chapter is near and dear to my heart.

Are your characters based on any one (or any ice skaters) you know?
They’re all products of my imagination, although there may be some characteristics that have been subconsciously inspired by skaters I’ve watched over the years. If you find a coach that fits Sergei’s description (young, hot, and romantic!), please let me know!

If there is ONE THING you would like readers to know about Life on the Edge, what would it be?
It’s a feel-good story. When I was working on the book, some people thought I should make the story grittier, but I had to stay true to my vision of the characters. There’s plenty of drama and intensity in the book, but in the end I wanted to leave the reader with warm feelings.

What are your plans for a sequel, if any? Do you have any other stories planned? *eye wink*
I’m currently writing the sequel to Life on the Edge! It’s in the early stages, but I’m very excited to share more of Emily and Sergei’s story with everyone.

What is the one thing you most wish to accomplish in 2012?
I want to finish the sequel and have it published or ready for publication by the end of the year.

Aside from the necessities, if you could take only one thing with you while traveling, what would it be?
My camera! I love taking photos, and I couldn’t imagine being without my camera on a trip. I had to stop developing my trip pictures because I can’t fit any more photo albums on my bookshelf!

Chocolate or vanilla?
Definitely chocolate (and lots of it!)

Pepsi or Coke?
Coke

Tom or Jerry? 😉
Jerry

Thank you for taking the time to talk to Making the Grade! I’m sure I speak for us all when I say we look forward to reading more from you!

Provide a Mad Libs entry for your chance to win
a Life on the Edge Prize Pack!

You must fill out this form to enter.

ONE entry per person.
Giveaway is open INTERNATIONALLY.
ONE winner will receive the Prize Pack and e-book.
Giveaway ends at midnight on Wednesday, March 28, 2012.

View the other blogs participating in this Hop (and enter to win even more giveaways!) by visiting the Kick-Butt Characters Giveaway Hop page over at I Am a Reader, Not a Writer.

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on March 23, 2012, in Author Event, Giveaway, Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

