Make it a Movie Monday (7) Tiger’s Curse

This meme is a way to discuss the books that have made their way to film, or to talk about the books we wish would be made into a movie. You are open to talk about any book out there in any way that you want. For example: Who would you have play the leads in the movie? Who would direct? Animated or live action? Etc. For more info about how to include your own Make it a Movie Monday (MiaMM) on your blog, click here.

This week my meme will focus on Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck. This post is timely because Colleen is currently holding a contest on her web site allowing YOU to create your own dream cast of her characters. (If you haven’t heard yet, Tiger’s Curse is being made into a movie by Paramount, much to my excitement.) By entering her contest you can win a movie-themed prize pack! Below I have listed my selections. Let me know if you agree! – and I encourage you to enter the contest (or one of the two others she is currently holding on her site.)

Tiger’s Curse
By Colleen Houck
Published January 11, 2011
Sequel: Tiger’s Quest Published June 7, 2011
Sequel: Tiger’s Voyage Published November 1,  2011
Sequel: Tiger’s Destiny To be released September 4, 2012
Sequel: Tiger’s Dream TBA
Sterling Publishing / Splinter
Ages 12 and up
Film rights: Paramount Pictures
Film Site | Author Site

Would you risk it all to change your destiny? The last thing Kelsey Hayes thought she’d be doing this summer was trying to break a 300-year-old Indian curse. With a mysterious white tiger named Ren. Halfway around the world. But that’s exactly what happened. Face-to-face with dark forces, spellbinding magic, and  mystical worlds where nothing is what it seems, Kelsey risks everything to piece together an ancient prophecy that could break the curse forever.

Jenna’s Tiger’s Curse Dream Cast:

Kelsey Hayes – Ellen Page
The main character in the Tiger’s Curse series, age 18 at the start of the series. Her parents died in a car accident when she was a freshman. She then lived with her foster parents, Sarah and Mike.You saw Ellen in X-Men, Juno, and once again in Inception. With the addition highlights and with a youthful air about her, I can see Ellen Page as our Kelsey. She’s both sarcastic and versatile. Pretty, but not glamorously so. And she’s not stick thin, as are too many actresses these days. Can’t you see her as Kelsey, too?

Alagan Dhiren Rajaram (Ren) – Shahid Kapoor
A 300 year old prince who turned into a white tiger when he was cursed. However, he did not age during his time with her curse, and therefore is still 21. Shahid is an Indian actor who has appeared in numerous Bollywood films. He is also a trained dancer. Shahid definitely fits the bill in ethnicity, looks and skill. The only downfall is that he will be older than 30 at the time of filming. Still, he’s plenty hot enough to pull off playing a 21 year old prince with blue eyes.

Sohan Kishan Rajaram – Prateik Babbar
Ren’s younger brother. He has not aged in his black tiger form, so technically he is 300 years old but is actually 20. Prateik Babbar is an Indian actor. He is the son of late actress Smita Patil and actor turned politician Raj Babbar. He has a certain “bad boy” look about him that makes him perfect for the role of Kishan. Currently as only 25 years old, he’s not “too” old to depict the prince with the golden eyes.

Mr. Anik Kadam – Amitabh Bachchan
He is over 300 years old, but wears a special pendent that makes him age very slowly, if not at all. He is like a grandfather to Kelsey, and is Ren’s employee. He is Nilima’s great-great-great-great grandfather. Amitabh Bachchan has an intellectual, grandfatherly look about him that I like. He looks both young and old, perfect for the role of a man who has lived across many generations. Bachchan is regarded as one of the greatest and most influential actors in the history of Indian cinema.

Lokesh – Ajay Devgn
Lokesh is a dark wizard king who cursed Ren and Kishan into tigers. He killed his wife when she bore him a daughter, Yesubai, which he killed years later. Lokesh means Lord of the World. I’ll admit, I am judging this actor by the one photo to the left. But just look at him! Doesn’t he look positively sinister? I also imagine that Lokesh is perhaps a fairly attractive man by his own right. This man is not young, but he is certainly attractive.

Nilima Mehta – Amrita Rao
Mr. Kadam’s great-great-great-great granddaughter. She is of Indian descent and one of Kelsey’s best friends. She is one of the only grandchildren to know about the curse placed upon Ren and Kishan. Amrita is beautiful, elegant and apparently a fairly successful young actress in India. Better yet, she speaks English.

Durga – Madhuri Dixit
A Hindu godess who helps Kishan, Ren, and Kelsey. She is very kind and provides Kelsey and crew with weapons they may use as they complete their tasks. She has a tiger, Damon, who she protects and loves. Madhuri is one of Hindi cinema’s leading actresses, acknowledged for several of her performances, her beauty, and her accomplished dancing. Just seeing her decked out in traditional Hindi clothing makes it easy to imagine her as Durga.

Phet – Anupam Kher
Phet is a Hindu monk who revealed to Kelsey she was the chosen one of Durga. He lives in the jungle in a small hut by himself. His practices are… unconventional… to say the least. Anupam Kher is an Indian actor who has appeared in nearly 450 films and 100 plays. Though mainly appearing in Bollywood films, he has had roles in some films from other nations as well. He is a skilled actor who could easily adapt to the role of dear Phet.


Thanks for reading my MAKE IT A MOVIE MONDAY! If you have made your own MiaMM, please add the URL for your post this week by clicking on the InLinkz button below. Be sure it is the direct post URL and not your blog URL! You may also view other MiaMM posts by clicking below.


About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Make it a Movie Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. I haven’t read Tigers Curse, but the cast definitely makes me want to.

  2. Vickie Reljin

    Great picks!! I could totally imagine Ellen as Kelsey. I LOVE Shahid Kapoor as Ren even though he is older he is still amazing 😉 I totally want to kick Ajay into next year for even thinking about hurting Kelsey and the tigers….which is probably a good thing ;D Amrita is perfect for Nilima! She is so beautiful 🙂 I’ve got to tell you, you are very good at picking actors/actresses!! 😉 I LOVE these books and can’t wait until they make Tiger’s Curse into a movie!! 😀

  3. This book looks good–I should check it out!

    I accidentally left my link in a comment on last weeks post instead of this weeks linky, so you can just ignore that other comment…

    • No prob! Glad you made it to the right place! FYI, the inLinkz is open Monday-Friday during that current week’s Make it a Movie Monday. This post will be open for submissions until Friday, March 9! 🙂

  4. I like the options except Ellen Page. She’s a fantastic actress, but I just see her as looking too childlike and somewhat tomboyish for this role. Don’t get me wrong, she’s lovely. I just think someone with more of a timeless look of beauty like Emma Roberts could be a good pick. She’s soft and feminine, has gorgeous golden brown hair, fits the age range (even when the film is made a few years from now) and has a full pouty look that I think makes her very appealing, but she could also be tough and heroic the way Kelsey has to be. I just think Emma would bring more charm to the sarcastic side of Kelsey than Ellen Page would. Kelsey can be kind of a pain in the neck and you want an actress who can make that endearing rather than overwhelming. Just my overly verbose two cents. Also, I think Frieda Pinto would be an excellent Durga. She’s as gorgeous as a goddess and can be fierce and vulnerable too.

  5. I agree, Id probaly see Emma Roberts as Kelsey. Ellen is a wonderful girl and I love to see her in Tigers Curse but she doesn’t look like what I had in mind..Neither is Emma but Id choose Emma Roberts..Other than that, the people you chose are perfect, just what I thought they looked like!

  6. White Tiger Fan!

    That is THE PERFECT CAST! Only two problems: 1) That picture of Mr. Kadam makes him look slightly evil. 😛 2) Ellen looks to sweet to play a person that would even consider leaving Ren! 😉 But I couldn’t come up with any better ideas for this cast. As far as Shahid goes, I think he could absolutely play the part. I hope all of them make it into the movie…. 🙂

  7. White Tiger Fan!

    I just read all the other comments…I agree with the whole Emma Roberts thing…she might play the part better then Ellen. But I’d be happy either way. They both look exactly like what I imagined 🙂

  8. i think you put for Phet should be Mr. Anik Kadam!!!! But not who you actually put for Mr. Kadam!

  9. I’m not positive where you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I must spend some time finding out much more or working out
    more. Thanks for wonderful info I used to be looking for this information for my mission.

  10. I love all but Ellen Page. She just doesn’t fit Kelsey.

  11. I LOVE EVERYTHING I think Ellen Page might look a little bit to child like as many others have seemed to say bit I think Shahid Kapoor is a great idea and agree with all of the other ones! I hope it becomes a movie soon!!!!

  12. I can’t believe this is really happening!!! This is my favorite series. To me, better than or equal to theHarry Potter series! I’ve been praying that they would make a movie. I love the actors/ actresses that are going to play in it. They fit the role. If you haven’t read it yet, you better get on it!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

