Waiting on Wednesday: Chosen Ones (The Lost Souls #1)

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating. This week’s “can’t-wait-to-read” selection on Making the Grade is:

Chosen Ones (The Lost Souls Book 1)
by Tiffany Truitt
Published by Entangled Publishing
Release Date: April 10, 2012
Author Website
Pre-order on Amazon

What if you were mankind’s last chance at survival? 

Sixteen-year-old Tess lives in a compound in what was once the Western United States, now decimated after a devastating fourth World War. But long before that, life as we knew it had been irrevocably changed, as women mysteriously lost the ability to bring forth life. Faced with the extinction of the human race, the government began the Council of Creators, meant to search out alternative methods of creating life. The resulting artificial human beings, or Chosen Ones, were extraordinarily beautiful, unbelievably strong, and unabashedly deadly.

Life is bleak, but uncomplicated for Tess as she follows the rigid rules of her dystopian society, until the day she begins work at Templeton, the training facility for newly created Chosen Ones. There, she meets James, a Chosen One whose odd love of music and reading rivals only her own. The attraction between the two is immediate in its intensity—and overwhelming in its danger.

But there is more to the goings-on at Templeton than Tess ever knew, and as the veil is lifted from her eyes, she uncovers a dark underground movement bent not on taking down the Chosen Ones, but the Council itself. Will Tess be able to stand up to those who would oppress her, even if it means giving up the only happiness in her life?

I appear to be on a bit of a dystopian kick these days, though honestly it’s hard to find a good one that isn’t just a rehash of The Hunger Games. Chosen Ones sounds like it has VERY great potential. It sounds like a departure from the mold, and a pretty good romance at that. Plus, I do have some love for that fabulous cover. I can’t wait to read this one! (Is it April yet?)

Also, be sure to enter our current giveaway for a chance to win one of TWO signed copies of Article 5 by Kristen Simmons (another great dystopian!) Giveaway ends February 24.

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on February 15, 2012, in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This one has peeked my interest, and I am not one that usually reads dystopians. Looking forward to it!

  2. I have an ARC of this one to read before the blog tour begins. I can’t wait to start, it sounds amazing!

  3. OMg yesssss I SO SO WANT THIS ONE!!!! It comes out on my birthday!! See, I need it!!!

  4. Ooh, this sounds REALLY good! I’m a big fan of dystopian books at the moment too, so this is definitely something that I want to pick up!

    Stephanie
    – Please visit my latest post & if you haven’t already, enter my International Giveaway!

  5. Whoa, this one looks so good! I haven’t heard of it before, but I’m definitely checking it out! Great pick 🙂

    Here’s my WoW!

  1. Pingback: Cover Reveal: Gravity by Melissa West | Making the Grade

Leave a Reply

