Top Ten Books That Darn Near Broke My Heart

Top Ten Books That Darn Near Broke My Heart

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we were asked to list books that for whatever reason broke our heart… Happy Valentine’s Day! These are my picks in no particular order:


1. MockingjayBy Suzanne Collins – 1) Because it is sad and 2) because of the disappointment I felt about the conclusion to the series while reading it. THAT broke my heart.

2. The Fault in Our StarsBy John GreenWhen you’re reading a story about cancer, you KNOW there will be tears.

3. Before I Fall – By Lauren Oliver Reliving the final day of your life over and over. Who should go through such torture?

4. Tarnished Gold – By V.C. Andrews – My heart was broken once only to be healed and then re-broken again by the ending…

5. Dreamdark: Silksinger  – By Laini Taylor – Knowing we may not get any more of this series breaks my heart.

6. Starters – By Lissa Price – So much sadness in this one!!! (I don’t want to spoil it for you!)

7. Les Misérables – By Victor Hugo – Jean Valjean, Fantine, Eponine, Gavroche, Javert… Nuff’ said.

8. Tiger’s Quest – By Colleen Houck The ending!!! Aye! (And the next book, Tiger’s Voyage, doesn’t even help matters!)

9. Marley & Me – by John Grogan – There must be something about me and dog books, b/c this is the first of two on this list that broke my heart.

10. Where the Red Fern Grows – By Wilson Rawls – The most heartbreaking tale of a boy’s love for his dogs, and the kindred spirit shared by them all.

Don’t forget! Today is the LAST DAY to enter the Follower Love Giveaway Hop! Win one of four books!

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on February 14, 2012, in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh this is a great post!!! I’m right there with you on The Fault In Our Stars, Marley & Me (read it 3 times, cried harder each time and still refuse to watch the movie), and Where The Red Fern Grows.

  2. We have the first 3 books in common – so much sad! Good to know that Starters is heartbreaking. I was just about to pick that one up and now I know what I’m in for. You’re making me very curious about that Laini Taylor series. I’ve only read Lips Touch and Daughter Of so I need to check out her older books.

  3. Totally agree about Mockingjay!! I remember I cried so hard all the book ❤ And Before I fall was so sad too. I really need to read the fault in our stars soon!! Awesome list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

