Author Interview & Giveaway: Jennifer E. Smith

Featured in the Follower Love Giveaway Hop this week is The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith. I am honored to have been able to interview Jennifer about her influences, the book, as well as her plans for more contemporary YA fiction!

ABOUT JENNIFER E. SMITH:

Jennifer E. Smith is the author of four novels for young readers. She earned her master’s degree in creative writing from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, and currently works as an editor in New York City. Her writing has been translated into over twenty languages.

THE INTERVIEW:

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I’m a Young Adult author as well as an editor (though not for YA books).  The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is my third novel, and my fourth – The Storm Makers, my first middle grade book – will be out in early April.

 What do you do when you’re not writing? (For fun, that is!)

Well, I live in New York City, so there’s always something interesting going on.  I spend a lot of time with my friends, trying new bars and restaurants, and I have a dog, so I tend to log a lot of hours at the park.  I also teach therapeutic horseback riding to kids with disabilities one morning a week, which is something I really love doing.

Your writing style could expand into so many different markets, what exactly got you into writing YA fiction?

Thank you!  A few years ago, I joined a “kidlit” book club, and getting to read all those great examples of YA literature really reignited my interest in writing for this market.  In my opinion, there’s no better audience.  I love writing YA, and I think some of the most interesting things happening in publishing at the moment are happening within that age range.  But I also have my first middle grade book coming out in April, and I can’t say I’d never try writing for adults either.  Part of the fun of writing is trying new things, so you never know.

Is there any particular author or book that influenced you in any way either growing up or as an adult?

As a kid, my three favorite books were Bridge to Terabithia, Where the Red Fern Grows, and Tuck Everlasting – they’re all just so sad and sweet, and they each have a very classic feel that still really appeals to me.  Now, as an adult, I still love to read books like that, as well as other great YA novels, but I’m also an editor on the adult side of publishing, so I tend to read a lot of literary fiction too: Jennifer Egan, Cormac McCarthy, Richard Ford, Nicole Krauss, Michael Chabon, David Mitchell, Mary Karr, etc.  I think it’s always helpful to read as widely as possible, and it’s one of the very best things you can do as a writer.

Regarding The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, what was your favorite chapter (or part of the book) to write and why?

I loved writing the scenes when Hadley and Oliver are getting to know each other on the flight to London.  They spend hours talking, and much of it just the kind of silly banter you’d expect when you’ve got time to kill on a plane, so it was a lot of fun to write that sort of dialogue.

If there is ONE THING you would like readers to know about the book, what would it be?

That four minutes can change everything.

Can you reveal anything about your next YA book? *eye wink*

It’s another contemporary love story called This Is What Happy Looks Like.  It all starts when an email goes astray, and two teenagers on opposite sides of the country strike up a conversation as a result, which eventually sparks a very unlikely romance.  I’m getting close to the finish line now, and it will be out sometime in 2013.

You are a star at writing books about road trips and travel. Aside from the necessities, if you could take only one thing with you while traveling, what would it be?

My trusty beagle, Tate.

Is there anything more you would like to say to the readers?

Just…thank you!  The response to Statistical Probability has been overwhelming and so very gratifying.  I’m incredibly grateful to all those who have read it, and it’s so nice to hear from so many of you.

Thank you for taking the time to talk to Making the Grade! I’m sure I speak for us all when I say I can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve next!

Thanks so much for having me!

Enter for your chance to win a copy of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight (or one of three other books) in the Follower Love Giveaway Hop!

You must fill out this form to enter.

Four winners will each receive one of the above books.
Open to US residents aged 13 and older only.
ONE entry per person.
Giveaway ends at midnight on Tuesday, February 14, 2012.

View the other blogs participating in this Hop (and enter to win even more giveaways!) by visiting the Follower Love Giveaway Hop page over at I Am a Reader, Not a Writer.

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Giveaway, Interview and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the interview and the giveaway.

  2. This book came in the mail yesterday! Can’t wait to get to it! 🙂

  3. I love the idea of meeting on a flight to London! I just flew in to England last month and I was totally looking around the plane looking for new friends. Did. not. happen. 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

