Top Ten Tuesday (3) – Books for Non-Readers

Top Ten Books I Would Give to Someone Who Doesn’t Read Books

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we were asked to list books that we would give to someone who does not read books. These are my picks:

YA / ADULTS

1. Ender’s GameBy Orson Scott Card – This is my #1 pick on my World Book Night application. Here’s hoping I get it!

2. The Fault in Our StarsBy John GreenRead my review here.

3. The Belgaraid and Malloreon Series – By David Eddings The perfect fantasy books for people who don’t read fantasy!

4. The Princess Bride – William Goldman – Because who doesn’t like a story about “Twuuue loooove!” ??

5. Tiger’s Curse – By Colleen Houck – I’m biased. I love this series and recommend it to everyone.

MIDDLE GRADE (Also good for all ages)

6. Howl’s Moving Castle By Diana Wynne Jones – In which I say ALL MUST READ this one.

7. Inkheart – By Cornelia Funke – I love the Inkheart series, and so should you! It’s an imaginative story within a story and the characters are outstanding.

8. Maniac Magee – By Jerry Spinelli One of the best books that I remember reading as a child about the power of racism in a small town.

9. Harry Potter – by J.K. Rowling – Duh.

10. Bridge to Terabithia – By Katherine Paterson – A fantastic book about being a child and the pains of growing up.

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. wwwuuuuvvvvv twuuuuu wuuuuuvvvv , is what bwings us togethaaa today. Bwahahahahaaaaaa LOVE IT!

  2. Harry Potter is on practically every list! (And I approve!) Ender’s Game, The Princess Bride, and Bridge to Terabithia are grade choices, as well. Unfortunately, I’m not much of a fan of Inhkeart.

    I haven’t read TFioS yet, but I’ve been hearing so much about it, that I’m definitely going to have to get a copy.

  3. I think if i give my bro hp.. he wont even read. I guess some ppl arent the reading type at all.

  4. I still need to read The Fault in our Stars… it’s on the top of my TBR pile. I have Paper Towns on my list though -shrug-

    Howl’s Movie Castle. You know. I had a real hard time reading that book, actually. I think it may be due to the fact that I saw the movie first… and was completely enchanted by it. The book… Howl… ish. I had to put the book down multiple times before making it through it >__<

    Great list, though! I'm seeing Harry Potter everywhere, I guess I'm not surprised, haha.

    Here's my list: Top Ten Tuesday

    — Chelsea from Books Turn Brains

    • Ah, but I read the book long before the movie was around. Which, in my case, made the movie… Meh. They left out many of my favorite elements of the story and I loved the wit and humor of the book. I can understand your POV, though. The movie Howl (character) was so dashing!

  5. I should probably read Ender’s Game at some point. Everyone tells me to. Why don’t I listen?

  6. I agree with the Ender’s Game and anything by David Eddings. I need to read The Tiger’s Curse.

Leave a Reply

