Make it a Movie Monday (3) Daughter of Smoke & Bone Dream Cast

This meme is a way to discuss the books that have made their way to film, or to talk about the books we wish would be made into a movie. You are open to talk about any book out there in any way that you want. For example: Who would you have play the leads in the movie? Who would direct? Animated or live action? Etc. For more info about how to include your own Make it a Movie Monday (MiaMM) on your blog, click here.

This week my meme will focus on Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. Film rights to the movie based on the book have recently been bought by Universal Pictures. When thinking about what the movie will be like, I can already imagine my own dream cast for the main characters. Look below and let me know what you think of my choices! Please note, these are my views and not the views of Laini Taylor or those involved in the movie’s production.

Also, I am happy to announce that Little, Brown is donating a copy of Daughter of Smoke and Bone as part of the Follower Love Giveaway Hop that will be starting tomorrow. Subscribers: Stay tuned for an email on Tuesday containing complete details about the giveaway AND be sure to enter for your chance to win! Lots of prizes and lots of winners are in store!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone
By Laini Taylor
Published September 27, 2011
Little, Brown
Ages 15 and up
Author Site | Movie Site
Universal Pictures
To be Released: Unknown

Read Our Book Review

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky. In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low. And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war. Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages—not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out. When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Jenna’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone Movie Dream Cast:

Karou – Shelby Young
Official website character description: Karou is a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague. But she’s also errand girl to Brimstone, an other-worldly creature who is the closest thing to a father she has. Her blue hair grows out of her head that color, and the scars on her stomach were probably made by bullets. People have asked her, “Who are you?” but she really doesn’t know the answer.
Not only is Shelby Young gorgeous, but her acting career is still relatively unknown, so this could be her breakthrough performance. She appeared in The Social Network and she actually has one of my favorite lines from the movie: (after someone asks her about the content of some spammy links she’s been receiving) “I don’t know, but I’m really hoping it’s cats that look like Hitler, because I can never get enough of that.”

Akiva – Mark Salling
Official website character description: Breath-stealingly beautiful, Akiva’s fiery wings and amber eyes give off a heat entirely lacking in humanity. A good soldier should never ask questions, but when Akiva lays eyes on Karou, he can’t stop until he finds out exactly who (or what) she is.
He fits my image of Akiva perfectly. Stunning beauty and amber eyes (contacts would look amazing on him…) Close-cropped, dark hair. He has a brooding look to him that would make many girls swoon (including me…) Ok, and maybe I’m a bit biased. I am a bit of a Gleek. Even still, I can’t think of another actor whose attitude and look both fit the part of Akiva. Ohhh, and if he had wings… I don’t know. I may squeal. (I kid.)

Brimstone – Liam Neeson
Official website character description: Brimstone raised Karou from a baby, though she doesn’t know how she came into his keeping. While slightly menacing and certainly monstrous, he is not without tenderness. He deals in teeth and wishes — human and non — out of a dark shop that can be entered through doorways all over the world. Where is it and where does its locked inner door lead? And above all, what does he do with all those teeth? Karou is dying to know.
Liam Neeson is certainly an imposing presence with leadership qualities. I could just imagine what makeup and special effects could do to give him a demonic air about him. With his wise eyes and overall distinguished look, I couldn’t imagine a better Brimstone.

Zusana – Mila Kunis
Official website character description: This tiny Czech girl is no fool. She knows there’s something fishy going on every time Karou disappears on one of her “secret errands.” But can Zusana handle the truth about her best friend? And what would Karou do without the “normal” that Zuzana brings to her life?
I think that Mila Kunis fits the role of Zusana perfectly. Not only can she present a quirky, bombastic and self-assured attitude, but she also has some experience with “ballet” acting and has a rather small frame. Plus, although she is Russian, she has an exotic look about her. And thank goodness Zusana is a dark-haired Czech. Mila Kunis is my perfect Zusana.

Issa – Anne Hathaway
Official website character description: Guardian of the threshold, serpent from the waist down and woman from the waist up. She has the hood and fangs of a cobra, and the face of an angel.
Anne Hathaway has a fairy tale look about her. Imagining her with a serpent’s body and the hood and fangs of a cobra… Oooo, it would be so sweet to see her play such a part! Plus, her role as the White Queen in Alice in Wonderland shows that she can do fantasy. It would also be a joy to see her caring for young Karou.

(Character descriptions taken from the official Daughter of Smoke and Bone website.)

Thanks for reading my MAKE IT A MOVIE MONDAY! If you have made your own MiaMM, please add the URL for your post this week by clicking on the InLinkz button below. Be sure it is the direct post URL and not your blog URL! You may also view other MiaMM posts by clicking below.

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on February 6, 2012, in Make it a Movie Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. This book is in among my TBR’s. I really need to get to it! Love the Cast you chose! Mark Salling??? I’m not much of a Gleek these days, but I still love his acting! Oh and Liam Neeson, is one of my favorites! When I was living in California, my best friend and I went to eat at a Marie Callender’s in Hollywood. We were eating and heard a voice that sounded strangely familiar. Looked to our right and who was at a table next to us? You guessed it! Liam Neeson! EEEK! 🙂 Okay back on topic, … ;), I am also a big fan of Anne Hathaway! Now when I’m reading the book I’m automatically going to have faces in place for the characters!

  2. We loved this meme idea and decided to start MiaMM for our blog.

    • That is fantastic! I can’t wait to read your MiaMM for this week. It is a lot of fun. Im fact, I have a hard time choosing what idea to use each week… I have so many in mind. 🙂 ~Jenna

  3. I love this book!:D I think Karou should be played by Evan Rachel Wood and Akiva should be played by Ryan Reynolds (because in my opinion he is the most beautiful man EVER) and I also think Issa should be played by Nina Dobrev.

  4. Amy Acker as Issa

  5. Chace Crawford as Akiva!!

  6. I think that Ksenia Solo would make a great Zusana. Watch her on “Lost Girl” and you’ll realize she’s perfect for the part.

  7. Well, I prefer Kaya Scodelario (or Emma Watson) as Karou, and a younger and tanner Akiva, Steven Strait, maybe?

  8. In my opinion, Kaya Scodelario (Karou) and Steven Strait (Akiva) would be PERFECT!! Ksenia Solo for Zuzanna (she’s gorgeous, and perfect for the height… She’s around 5’2 or 5’3.. And she’s also very sassy). Let’s not forget that Karou and Zuzanna are only 17.

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the Follower Love Giveaway Hop! | Making the Grade

Leave a Reply

