Waiting on Wednesday: The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden)

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that I’m eagerly anticipating. This week’s “can’t-wait-to-read” selection on Making the Grade is:

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden Book 1)
by Julie Kagawa
Published by Harlequin Teen
Release Date: April 24, 2012
Author Website
Pre-order on Amazon

You will kill. The only question is when.

In the dark days since the insidious Red Lung virus decimated the human population, vampires have risen to rule the crumbling cities and suburbs. Uncontested Princes hold sway over diminished ranks of humans: their “pets.” In exchange for their labor, loyalty and of course, their blood, these pets are registered, given food and shelter, permitted to survive.

Unregistered humans cling to fringes, scavenging for survival. Allison Sekemoto and her fellow Unregistereds are hunted, not only by vampires, but by rabids, the unholy result of Red Lung-infected vampires feeding on unwary humans. One night, Allie is attacked by a pack of rabids, saved by an unlikely hero…and turned vampire.

Uncomfortable in her undead skin, Allie falls in with a ragtag crew of humans seeking a cure, or cures: for Rabidism and for Vampirism. She’s passing for human…for now. But the hunger is growing and will not be denied. Not for friendship—not even for love.

Random trivia about the author:
Julie Kagawa shares my love for the video game, Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. This is just about one of the few games I will play for hours on end. I admit, I had a bit of a giddy geek moment when I read her blog post about her Skyrim adventures. I’m happy to share that blog post with you.

In case you haven’t heard of it, Julie has this fantastically EPIC series about the Iron Fey. The books in the series are titled: Iron King, Iron Daughter, Iron Queen and Iron Knight. If you haven’t read them yet, you might want to consider it. Pronto. They are five star books, if you ask us here at Making the Grade. I can’t WAIT to see how she tackles the subject of vampires. I’m sure this series will be fantastic, too, and will likely improve upon the subject matter. If only I could get my hands on a copy of the book now!

Also, be sure to enter our current giveaway for a chance to win a signed copy of The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick! ENDS TODAY!

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Michael is a Skyrim fanatic as well! I LOVE Julie Kagawa. Brilliant writer! Her Iron Fey series is the best Fey series available! I’m looking forward to this book! I’ve read the sneak peek on the back of The Iron Knight, and I have to say it sounds edgy! Won’t be seeing any glittery vegetarians in this book! 😉 Is it April yet?

  2. Yay!! This one was my WoW a while back. I love the Iron Fey and I am absolutely thrilled that Julie is broaching the subject of vampires, cuz let’s face it – I’m really more of a werewolf kind of gal. So, I totally agree with you that she will likely improve the subject 🙂
    My WoW

  3. I’ve kind of been on a vampire hiatus after so many let me down, but this book sounds so good I might have to give it another go! I’ve heard great thing about the Iron Fey too, I’m definitely going to have to check it out.

    My WoW

Leave a Reply

