Waiting on Wednesday: What’s Left of Me

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases I’m eagerly anticipating. This week’s “can’t-wait-to-read” selection on Making the Grade is:

What's Left of MeWhat’s Left of Me
by Kat Zhang
HarperCollins
Release Date: September 18, 2012
Author Website
Preorder on Amazon
Add to Goodreads

Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else—two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbors shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn’t…

For the past three years, Eva has clung to the remnants of her life. Only Addie knows she’s still there, trapped inside their body. Then one day, they discover there may be a way for Eva to move again. The risks are unimaginable–hybrids are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. And yet…for a chance to smile, to twirl, to speak, Eva will do anything.

I discovered this book on the recent YAmazing Race scavenger hunt, held by the Apocalypsies. I have to say, I loooove when authors hold such events on their blogs. I discover so many new and upcoming books that way! So, of course, when I saw What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang, I had to take a closer look. The idea of two souls being women together in one body, with only one prevailing to live out the rest of their (?) life. Wow. It’s sad, it devastating, if you ask me. I can’t help but think of the tragic life of Siamese twins… I cannot WAIT to get my hands on this one.

Plus, since I do love beautiful cover art: Do you see the brilliant double image in the cover?

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on May 9, 2012, in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. sarahbotbonkers

    I’m so excited for this as well! This was my WoW last week and the cover is really beautiful. :)

    Care to stop by my WoW?

  2. That’d when I discovered this one TOO! :D It looks like a fantastic idea, I’m so excited!

    My WoW

  3. This one looks really good, it’s going on my want-list!

  4. This is one I am looking forward to too! My WOW this week is also one I discovered on the YAmazing Race! Woohoo! :)

    My W.O.W.

  5. starryeyedjen29

    I hope this one turns out to be as amazing as it sounds! Great pick!

    Here’s my WoW post. Happy Wednesday! :D

  6. I want this one too! Beautiful cover. Young author. Dystopia. Oh, how I want this.

    Here’s my WoW.

  7. Awesome pick! So excited for this too! :D

    Drop by my WoW?

  8. I hadn’t heard of this one before, sounds really good! Thanks for the suggestion! Please check out my Wow!

  9. I can’t even express how excited I am for this one! That cover is what pulled me in instantly. I love the colors, the double image, and the font used in the title. This book does kind of remind me of The Host by Stephenie Meyer, which sounds like it could be awesome because I loved The Host, too! Thanks for sharing your pick!

    Darlene @ Leather Bound and Lovely

  10. Ohhh this sounds so good! And the cover is to die for! Adding this to my TBR pile right…….. NOW!

  11. Oooooh! I’m really, REALLY excited about this one! I should probably just second almost everything Darlene said. ;D

    Patricia // My WOW

  12. I saw this one recently too and it sounded interesting. Thanks for sharing it. I’m a new linky follower. Check out my WOW here:

    http://misclisa.blogspot.com/2012/05/waiting-on-wednesday-bar-code-prophecy.html?showComment=1336684169804#c276618159426242307

  13. Sounds lovely! Hope you enjoy reading this when it comes out :)

    Here is my WoW post. Check it out? ;)

    -Maxine @ Teenage Fiction

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup (2) + Book Haul! (vlog) « Making the Grade

Leave a Reply

