In My Mailbox: April 9 – 14, 2012 (In Which I Enter the World of Vlogging)

In My Mailbox is a meme hosted by The Story Siren and is an opportunity to share the books I get each week. It is likely that these books will appear in a review at some point in the near future. Thank you to Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Penguin Books, Random House, Harlequin Teen, HarperTeen and Gennifer Albin for the copies I received for review this week.

THIS IS MY FIRST VLOG. Please be kind!!!

Books Mentioned in This Video:

For Review:

Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick by Joe Schreiber (final)
Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey (final)
Austentatious by Alyssa Goodnight (final)
Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin (ARC)
Wanted by Heidi Ayarbe (ARC)
Arise by Tara Hudson (ARC)
Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson (ARC)
Gilt by Katherine Longshore (NetGalley)
Keep Holding On by Susane Colasanti (NetGalley)
All These Lives by Sarah Wylie (NetGalley)
Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowan (NetGalley)
Hemlock by Kathleen Peacock (Edelweiss)
Crewel by Gennifer Albin (e-book for review)

Purchased/Gifted:

Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter
The Book of Blood and Shadow by Robin Wasserman
I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga
A Temptation of Angels by Michelle Zink
Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers (SIGNED!)

Bloggers mentioned in this video: Anna from Literary Exploration for the signed copy of Grave Mercy.

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on April 14, 2012, in In My Mailbox, Vlog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Alyssa Susanna

    Hey you’re awesome!!!! I think your first vlog is great, especially with the help of having such a great mailbox this week! I too am excited to read Tiger Lily, it looks and sounds like a great read, as well as Hemlock :D
    And ooooo, a signed copy of Grave Mercy!!! I loveddddddd that book and would love to win your giveaway of Grave Mercy, so thanks for that!!!
    Great job on the vlog!!! :)
    Alyssa <3

  2. You did great!!!! You have so many great books I am dying to read! Enjoy! :)

    My IMM

  3. You did completely fine :) My vlog goes up tmrw . . first timer too so let’s see how that goes :D I gotta admit, I was laughing at the Michelle Zink book story :D

    • You’ll do great, Monica! I am glad I took the plunge. Now I know what to work on for next time. Maybe I’ll even invest in a better camera. And… NEXT week I might be acting like a giddy fan girl if what I think will be coming in my mailbox actually DOES come in… Stay tuned! :D

  4. I loved it! You showcased the books perfectly… not waving them around like some reviewers do when they get excited (I like to be able to see the cover/width of each book in vlogs.. I’m sure others do too!) And you shared a piece of yourself with the readers of MTG, which is essentially, what makes vlogs so handy to reviewers! Can’t wait to read your review on Tiger Lily and Gilt, and looking forward to your giveaways!

    • Haha! Thanks for watching. Oddly enough, I feel that I was holding back a bit in this video. ;)~

      The prom giveaway will come up by the end of the month. Monday starts another new giveaway, too! Stay tuned!

  5. Brilliant vlog! I think you did it exactly at the right place, and it was nice to hear your thoughts :)

  6. Great job on your first vlog! Very organized and nicely paced. And your mailbox is killer too! Au Revoir, Crazy European Chick looks really cute. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Crewel and I Hunt Killers too.
    Happy reading!

  7. Awesome job, Jenna! But I knew you would do great. :) I really like being able to see the actual books, something about seeing them rather than a photograph. And your excitement about them is fun too. I look forward to more vlogs from you!

  8. Great job! I’ve always like watching book haul/imm vlogs~
    I really need to get my hands on a copy of Grave Mercy soon,…I admit that its size scares me.

    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox

  9. Valeria Andrea

    The Book of Blood & Shadow! Damn, I need that one.

  10. It’s great to see you! Congrats on your first IMM, it totally rocked :)
    I think that I may be the only one who doesn’t have Grave Mercy and Temptation of Angels yet, lol! They both look and sound great, and they’re on my list, can’t wait!
    and yay for Tiger Lily and Hemlock!!! I am dying to hear read them! I look forward to hearing what you think… The release dates seems so far away! I hope they’re worth the wait :)
    Enjoy your stack!!!

    Here’s my IMM!

  11. Great mailbox! Looks like you have some fantastic reading ahead. Can’t wait to hear all about it. ^_^

  12. Awesome mailbox! You got like everything lol

  13. You did a great job ob the vlog!!

    Au Revoir Crazy European Chick is hilarious and a really, quick read, you can knock it out really quick. I’m so jealous of Arise and Keep Holding On! Enjoy your books! :)

  14. Great mailbox and good job on your first vlog!! I am SO jealous that you got Masquf of the Red Death!! I want this one so bad & it gets released on my birthday! I can’t wait to read Grave Mercy, Hemlock, I Hunt Killers, and Arise!! Happy reading & enjoy all those awesome books!

    My IMM

  15. Great set! I’m loving Grave Mercy. I want to read Masque of Red Death.
    My IMM

  16. Yayyyyyy I’m glad Grave Mercy found its way to you!! Fantastic!!!! :D

    Anna @ Literary Exploration
    My IMM

  17. Fantastic job, Jenna! LOVED IT!!!!! :)

  18. Looks like an incredibly great mailbox for you this week. Happy reading! My IMM Post

  19. Tiger Lily has been in a lot of IMMs in the last few weeks! I can’t wait to see what everyone thinks about it. I loved Peter Pan!! Ohh and Tinkerbell!

    Lisa
    IMM: http://turningpages94.blogspot.com/2012/04/in-my-mailbox_15.html
    Cinder Giveaway: http://turningpages94.blogspot.com/2012/04/just-for-heck-of-it-giveaway-cinder-by.html

  20. Great vlog, you did good, I did my first last week and was super nervous as well.

    I’m sooooooo jealous of your signed Grave Mercy!! I want it! I loved that book!
    I can’t wait for Masque of the Red Death either, should be good. I hope you enjoy all of your new reads and happy reading!

    Here’s our IMM

Leave a Reply

