Waiting on Wednesday: Origin

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases I’m eagerly anticipating. This week’s “can’t-wait-to-read” selection on Making the Grade is:

OriginOrigin
by Jessica Khoury
Published by Razorbill/Penguin Publishing
Release Date: September 4, 2012
Author Website
Pre-order on Amazon

An electrifying action-romance that’s as thoughtful as it is tragic.

Pia has grown up in a secret laboratory hidden deep in the Amazon rain forest. She was raised by a team of scientists who have created her to be the start of a new immortal race. But on the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that surrounds her sterile home–and sneaks outside the compound for the first time in her life.

Free in the jungle, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Together, they embark on a race against time to discover the truth about Pia’s origin–a truth with deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.

Origin is a beautifully told, shocking new way to look at an age-old desire: to live forever, no matter the cost. This is a supremely compelling debut novel that blends the awakening romance of Matched with the mystery and jungle conspiracy of Lost.

Just the other day, Jessica was tagged in a Lucky Seven game among author. In this hop they are instructed to do the following:

  1. Go to the seventh or 77th page of the WIP or latest book
  2. Count down seven lines.
  3. Copy the 7 sentences that follow and post them.
  4. Tag 7 other authors to do the same thing.

So here are 7 lines from page 77 of Origin:

“… As we walk, he begins telling me all the names of the plants we pass. I already know their names, but I don’t tell him that. He seems to think that scientists always want to know the names of things, and so I guess he thinks he’s being helpful. Anyway, I like listening to his voice. It’s deep and a little hoarse, as if he’s been yelling all day, and his accent makes every word sound new and exciting, as if he’s speaking another language I don’t have to strain to understand.
“Here is annatto, for repelling insects and curing snakebites. The girls say it makes a love potion, but I don’t believe them. They have all tried it on me, and I don’t love any of them…”

To see Jessica’s original Lucky Seven blog post, click here.

Yeah, pretty much all I can say is this: “SO. STINKIN’. AWESOME!”

About Jenna (Does Books)

Working momma of a little pink princess and reader of all things YA. I'm an artist, writer and avid reader who swears that she's having a hard time letting go of the childish things... Let me read your latest YA book and let's see if it makes the grade!

Posted on April 11, 2012, in Waiting on Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wow, this book sounds GOOD, especially that summary! I”m definitely going to be adding this to my TBR, I actually haven’t heard of it before. I can’t wait to get my hands on it and start reading!

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

  2. The first line totally drew me in!

    Patricia // My WOW

  3. This sounds intereting. I will have to add this to my TBR list.

  4. This looks pretty good. I like the 7 teaser there.

  5. As if the description didn’t have me, at the very end they throw in the comparison to Matched and Lost. I am so there with this book! I remember seeing it awhile back but I guess I forgot to add it to my list or it didn’t interest me at the time, but it has me about to die to have it now.

    Here is my WOW.

  6. Wow!! That sounds fantastic!! its definitely going on my tbr list! Thanks for introducing me to it ;D

Leave a Reply

